Successful Surgery

Mom’s surgery was last Wednesday and it went smoothly, that is after it actually started. We got there almost exactly on time, just a wee bit early. She was even called back more or less on time. By the time I was able to go see her before surgery, we found out that the doctor was running about an hour or so late!

Well, to try to ease Mom’s worries, I tried to find something on the TV in the waiting dock (or whatever it’s called before they take you back in your bed to surgery). All I could find on the TV was cartoons. We actually ended up talking more than watching, but I noticed that we actually had a good time; we didn’t become too angry with each other and she actually looked at me when I talked (normally, she kind of looks to the side or spaces out).

Finally, after she was wheeled back to surgery and I made it to the waiting room again I thought I could take a nap. I was so wrong. I tried to fall asleep, but without a pillow (I forgot one and failed to ask for one in the waiting dock the arm rests were brick-hard! I mean what did I expect?! They’re made of solid wood after all. 🙄 Well, since I couldn’t sleep, I thought I’d email Thayne and my GM telling them that “Mom’s in surgery.” Then I tried to read my book I’d brought with me; I think I fell asleep a couple of times reading it, but mostly I stayed awake and had like maybe 4 cups of coffee. I could have gone to get something to eat, but I didn’t want to have to figure out how to get enough courage to climb the stairs by myself or take an elevator (which I learned is super slow there) back up to the top floor. I also called my dentist office to say I had no idea if I was going to make the appointment or not yet. I also told them I didn’t know if Steven’d make his either. This depends on how Mom feels and if I’m working those days.

Anyway, that’s how surgery went and my waiting time. I guess there’s nothing left to say except that Mom is getting her cast this Tuesday. Time will only tell how long she has to keep that on. Guess now I’m done writing. Probably a good thing as I’m very sleepy right now and getting hungry. 😉

Love and prayers, as always! ❤

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 36 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

