Renewed, Rekindled, Remembered

Forgive me for not posting my usual post on the first. This past week has been a challenge on me in many ways I had not been expecting. I do not wish to divulge everything here for many reasons and I do not wish to get into those reasons either. I will write a little bit here and there about some other things that have been on my mind this past week and ending with today.

So last week while my general manager was away at her brother’s wedding another shift leader and I tag-teamed the duties that were normally on the general manger’s agenda/plate. I learned a lot about myself then. I have truly grown as a leader and person in general. I learned that it isn’t easy to reprimand a fellow employee when you have no idea what may or may not have happened. You have to realize that almost always the customer is right. It stings and, in my honest and humble opinion, it sucks! Customers can be down right jerks sometimes and just want the employee to be in trouble for some reason or another. At any rate, I had no choice but to talk with my employee and I wasn’t the only one to talk with him. My other shift leader talked with him as well. I even had learned that I am fairly strong both physically and psychologically.

I had to take care of shipments that came to the store this past week and the week before this. I put away the dry goods and refrigerated/freezer goods. I found out I could lift up to 45 pounds before struggling. While it may not seem like much, I must inform you that for a long time I couldn’t even lift 10 pounds without struggling. I am getting my strength back slowly but surely. Maybe I’ll finally be back to my capacity of lifting up to 75 pounds. I could never lift more than that and I don’t want to strain myself by forcing myself to do more than that or even trying to lift more than 45 at the moment. So I’ve renewed my commitment to being a leader and training myself to be stronger. (I don’t want to get into my psychological strength at the moment.)

I went to the cemeteries this past week to pay my respects to my family members and to “visit” Daddy. I didn’t want to stay as long this time with him, but I felt he knows what’s been going on and there was no need to re-explain all this to him again. I feel he was actually laughing and carrying on a conversation in my heart and soul the whole time I was there with Mom. So I remembered my family members and rekindled a relationship with a family friend (and former pastor) who was at one of the cemeteries.

Lastly, I went to Mass last night all tired and worn out from a long two weeks of work and very hungry as I had eaten very little all day (no, I don’t want to talk about why I ate so little either). I had expected to hear another humdrum homily from Fr. Mike (our pastor) or a lengthy and spiritual monologue by our parochial vicar Fr. Saiki. Neither was the case. As it was the vocational director came by to celebrate Mass. I was actually quite entranced by this homily of his. He walked back and forth in front of the altar talking with us and explaining in simple terms what Pentecost means and the Holy Spirit’s role. I was renewed and felt my soul revived; I remembered then what it was that made me so happy way back when to be Catholic. I also realized it was that same reason why I was so invigorated when I found Thayne’s sermons online. When someone speaks in a profound and simple manner, I understand; I become inflamed with the gift of the Spirit to share my love of God and Jesus with others. I actually understand! I want to spread this Word with others! (Perhaps this is what I miss and why I am finding myself less and less attracted to things of the Catholic world as a whole.)

Anyway, I just wanted to share this with all of you and remind you, I’m still here. We’re still traveling this road, this journey of life, together! I’m still here and hopefully we are going to see some positive changes coming our way soon. God only knows how much we all need it and who can help us find our way again! Here’s a hint, God knows and will help us! ❤ 🙂

Love and prayers, as always! ❤

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 35 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Renewed, Rekindled, Remembered

  1. Pingback: Best of Luck, Father Saiki | Travelers on the Road

Leave a Reply

