Your True Colors

I know it’s been a while, but anyone who has followed this blog for at least a year knows how hard it is for me to find time in the retail Christmas season to find time to write. Anyway, that sort of goes along with what I’m talking about tonight.

You know how people say you don’t really know someone until they are put under pressure? Or that some people will show their true colors/self when pressured? Apparently today was a good example of that in many regards. For me it started when I said I was leaving for work today. Mom told me she was going to check on our laundry in the basement while I was wrapping up my lunch. I finished and went to change into my work clothes and layer up (it’s VERY cold lately and is only getting colder). It was roughly 11:30 a.m. when I finished changing and layering up; I hollered down the basement to tell Mom I was leaving. She hollered back simply, “Okay!” Then I made my way to our family room/recreation room where Steven was watching TV. It’s the last room you come to before heading out the backdoor to our house (if you don’t count the garage of course). I told him bye and gave him a hug. He assured me, he’d miss me. I was glad someone would miss me and acknowledged me. So I headed on to work, locking the door behind me, and trying not to cry because I didn’t want my tears turning to icicles and because I didn’t want my eyes to be all puffy from crying.

By the time I arrived at work, I saw a text message from Steven. He said Mom had wandered upstairs and wondered where I was. He informed her I had already left. She didn’t believe him and made her way outside to check. I decided to call home before clocking in at work. I apologized to Mom and then told her I love her. We didn’t stay on the phone long as I had to clock in and get started with my day. So apparently, until she realized I wasn’t going to wait, Mom thought the laundry was more important than I? Is that what happened? I hope not, but maybe it is. :-/

I don’t really feel like posting more on this example because it’s depressing enough as is; so I’ll just leave you with a ’80s song and lyrics. It’s True Colors by Cyndi Lauper in 1986.

Love and prayers, as always! ❤ (The lyrics are below.)

You with the sad eyes
Don’t be discouraged
Oh I realize
It’s hard to take courage
In a world full of people
You can lose sight of it all
And the darkness inside you
Can make you feel so small
But I see your true colors
Shining through
I see your true colors
And that’s why I love you
So don’t be afraid to let them show
Your true colors
True colors are beautiful
Like a rainbow
Show me a smile then
Don’t be unhappy, can’t remember
When I last saw you laughing
If this world makes you crazy
And you’ve taken all you can bear
You call me up
Because you know I’ll be there
And I’ll see your true colors
Shining through
I see your true colors
And that’s why I love you
So don’t be afraid to let them show
Your true colors
True colors are beautiful
Like a rainbow
If this world makes you crazy
And you’ve taken all you can bear
You call me up
Because you know I’ll be there
And I’ll see your true colors
Shining through
I see your true colors
And that’s why I love you
So don’t be afraid to let them show
Your true colors
True colors
True colors
Shining through
I see your true colors
And that’s why I love you
So don’t be afraid to let them show
Your true colors
True colors are beautiful
Like a rainbow
About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 36 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

