Oreo and Jesus Christ

Such a random title, but as I write on (and you read on) I’m sure you’ll see why I put these two seemingly random topics together. Both of these topics are what have made me the happiest I’ve been in a long time.

Today (this past weekend) is the Feast of Christ the King! When I decided to take a unique look this year on this feast I was surprised to find that Jesus is truly what has helped me to stay happy most of this year despite all the struggles I’ve been enduring. Everything from blood sugar problems to stress and everything in between. I started sometime this year, don’t feel like researching when exactly, reading more devotionals and finding more time to spend with our LORD than I ever thought possible. I mean I was so busy that I didn’t think I could find 5 minutes let alone the 3 hours (total) I spend now. If anyone would have told me that I could spend more than just 1 1/2 hours with Him in a week, I would have said you were crazy! I spent about that much time at Mass weekly (this includes prayer before Mass and after Eucharist) with Him. Now, I find that is so small and not enough time. Any more coming home or going to work, etc. is a wonderful time to spend with Jesus and talk to Him about my day, worries, troubles, etc. I know He’s listening; often (as of late) I’ve been quiet and tell Him “It’s Your turn; I’ve talked to you a lot lately, but I’m sure You have something You’d like to tell me.” At first I was surprised because I had forgotten what His voice sounds like, but now I’m comfortable again. I suppose that’s why Oreo came into my life today! 🙂 ❤

Oreo is a white and black plush cat that Mom found this evening while we were walking around CVS Pharmacy. I was originally looking for a brown headband as mine went missing at work about 3 weeks or more ago. I still don’t know what happened to it, but no matter. I was looking at something else, when Mom picked up the plush cat and said “Look, isn’t this so cute!? It’s the only one left!” I smiled genuinely. “Yes, yes she is!” I started petting the plush as though it were a live cat. “Guess everyone else thought it was, too.” I thought for a minute or two after playing more with the plush; I hadn’t had time to play or be happy for a long time. Things have become super stressful since the holidays are fast approaching and I remembered thinking one day this past week, I have to find some way to keep myself sane this holiday season. I didn’t know what I would do; maybe play a few video games (still might do that), listen to some music (of course I’ll do that), and spend some time with Steven. After playing around with that plush cat, I knew exactly what I was going to do; We’re going to buy that cat! I thought. “How much is it?” I asked Mom. We couldn’t find a price anywhere so I walked up to a price checker machine and found out she was about $9. Not a bad deal in my opinion. So I carried Oreo with me throughout the rest of the store. Then we remembered we hadn’t bought Steven his Oreos yet. So we picked them up and I set the plush on top of the Oreos. I hadn’t given the plush a name yet, but decided right then and there to call her Oreo. Why am I calling this plush cat a her? Well, she has a short tail and from what I remember (Steven taught me this) most animals that have short tails are female.

Anyway, I can tell Oreo and I are going to be having a lot of fun together as the weeks and months pass by. She is actually sitting next to me as I type this entry. She’s made me so happy and I hope she’ll keep me happy for a while. I felt slightly immature about it, but Steven told me to keep playing with her “as long as it makes you happy because you don’t get that enough.” 😀 And you know what? I think I will keep playing with Oreo and talking with our LORD because it’s what will help me through this holiday season and possibly the rest of my life. 🙂

Love and prayers, as always! ❤

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 35 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

