Being a Leader Isn’t Easy

I don’t know why people thought/think that being a leader is easy. It sure as heck isn’t! Tonight at work was a very test of why I should be a leader and others not so much. First of all, if you’re not a leader: do NOT tell me how I should be leading or doing my job! I was told off by someone at work how to do my job. I’m sorry, but that is not your place or position to tell me what to do. I almost wiped my dirty hands (literally) all over her face. You do NOT have any right to tell me how to do my job or how to live my life. No one can tell someone else how to live his (neutral) life or how to do his (neutral) job. People can offer advice and advise people, but to actually tell people how to live their lives is never appropriate (or at least in my opinion). Second, at least at my mall job, I do not set prices nor do I make rules. Whoever thought that ringing up a free ice cream cup instead of a free drink with three cookies is right, I’m more than a bit furious with that person! I do not know who did this to a customer in the past, but I waited on them tonight and they said it had been done before. No, that’s no how we do things at Haagen-Dazs/Nestle Toll House. I have no idea where that came from, but that is not correct! Third, and hopefully last for tonight, don’t ask me why things are the way they are; unless I’ve set the rules in place (which I do for my family, my business, and anything personal), I do not know why they’re in place I merely help you to know what they are and how to follow them to the best of my knowledge.

Being a leader is hard work! No one said to me that being a leader would be a cakewalk. On the contrary, I knew when I stepped up to this position others would challenge me and make me do things I didn’t want to do or go places I didn’t want to go. That’s part of being a leader; that’s also (ironically maybe?!) what it means to be a Christian. Jesus said so Himself (John 21:18-19). I remember this part of the Bible a lot because it pertains so much to how I live my life and my personal calling.

So while I finish today in prayer and reflection, by writing to you and eventually turning on some of my music (I’ve been listening to Michael W. Smith’s album Worship Again! lately), I am reminded of why I took the position of leader at work and at home when I could have easily turned away and let someone else have all the stress and worry. Being a leader isn’t for everyone; it takes a lot of courage and strength (as well as other skills and qualities) — some things I’ve learned I have and was given by God.

Let’s end tonight’s entry with a brief prayer, because LORD knows I need it and really want His arms around me tonight. 🙂 (As always, you can use this if you want, as long as you give me credit. 🙂 )

LORD, today’s been stressful and I’ve had my moments where I felt You abandoned me. I know You don’t ever put us through trials intending for us to fail, so with that in mind, I pray that You will hug me and hold me tightly (but lovingly) as I sleep and spend time with my family. Do not let me feel overburdened, but know You are near! Thank You for always being with me today and always. In Your name, I offer this prayer. AMEN!

Love and prayers, as always! ❤

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 35 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

