Leaders Are Always Learning…ALWAYS!

Yesterday at work, my manager was asking for feedback and giving feedback on training a new shift leader. I was in charge, per se, the day before while my manager went on break and that meant I was supposed to be helping the new shift leader learn a few things. So as time went on, things got done that should (like prepping cookies for the following day and baking cookies and stocking shelves for the current day). I didn’t notice a few things that had gone awry; e.g., the new shift leader put too many toppings on the cookies (like M&Ms and nuts).  At first when I learned I should have been paying attention to that and the fact we hadn’t really stocked the shelves before finishing the prep for the next day, I was saddened and felt guilty that I let those things slide; however, I know from before my manager’s not yelling at me and she’s merely trying to teach me as well. So just grow and learn from it! 🙂 I also learned that to help train this new shift leader in particular, I should ask questions of her and not merely tell her what needs to be done. It’s so hard to realize (for me) that everyone is slightly different and requires a slightly different leader (even those who may claim they don’t need a leader — as I’ve often learned those who say they don’t need one are the ones who actually need one the most! :-/ ) !

Today, while checking my Facebook feed and “On This Day” app, I noticed that it said that 2 years ago yesterday I became a leader at work. I became the Ice Cream Inspector! 😀 That was the beginning of learning to be a leader; it was my first step and taste into what would soon become a pivotal point in my life! I have Thayne to thank for all this; he actually has never lost sight of helping me to achieve my dreams of being a leader and so many other wonderful dreams. Thayne, if you’re actually reading this entry (because I know sometimes he does read these blog entries) thank you so much for always believing in me and never giving up on me! ❤ 😀

I’ve learned a lot about being a leader at work (especially being Ice Cream Inspector). I can’t let people walk all over me, I have to keep busy and find things to do constantly, I also have to find things for others to do when I’m in charge, and I have to maintain a manner of professionalism about me at all times (that’s not to say I can’t have fun, but I have to at least remember to be serious when needed/required). There’s still much to learn and I know I’ll never quit learning.

Well, that’s all I have for tonight’s entry; I’m sure I’ll be writing more (as time allows) and I’m sure there will be even more fun to be had as I continue leading at work (and home)! 🙂

Love and prayers, as always! ❤

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 35 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

