Honesty is Still My Policy

A long while back, I can’t remember how long exactly — probably in college/university — I decided that lying to get ahead wasn’t for me. I remember thinking that if you had to lie to get ahead, what was the point. You aren’t seeing things for how they really are or telling people how they really are. Facts are supposed to be, from what I remember from grade/elementary school, are statements that can be proven; e.g., the solar system is made of eight planets and one sub-planet as well as numerous moons and an asteroid belt.

Why am I bringing up about honesty? It actually has a lot to do with my previous entry on how my endocrinologist/nurse practitioner appointment went (and a few other things, but I’ll get to them in a moment). I had thought everything was fine and I was doing great! Sadly, when I went to get my labs done last Friday I learned otherwise. The lab orders claimed I was now a type two diabetic with complications! 😡 WHAT?! 😯 I couldn’t believe what I was reading while in the waiting room/lobby of the lab. My nurse practitioner had said my numbers told her I was doing fine and nothing was wrong. The orders for my labs said otherwise. Who is telling me the truth? My papers or my nurse practitioner?! In all fairness the papers were typed up by my nurse practitioner, so therefore, that means she was lying to me in saying all was fine!

Why would you lie about such a thing to your patient? Doesn’t she (slightly neutral) deserve to hear the truth? I don’t understand. It makes no sense to me why you would verbally tell your patient one thing, but write something different on your patient’s order form and documentation of her appointment. :-/ I’m so hurt and confused. I may actually say something when I take Mom to her appointment on October 6. She goes to the same office, but sees them for something different, but let me get back to the matter at hand.

I have always felt honesty is the best policy. I am reminded of what happened when I was at college/university. I was selected to be an ambassador for the school and actually did quite well (or so I think) until I had to give a tour of the school to the ambassador moderator (I guess that’s the right word for it) and ended up stumbling over my words and being unable to say everything “the proper way” or in my words, “lying.” The moderator claimed that I was “just embellishing the truth.” As far as I could tell, this was lying to the people (potential students and their families) by telling them half-truths. I couldn’t do that! I couldn’t lie to them and tell them that the food was awesome, for example! The food wasn’t exactly horrible, but it was definitely not awesome or even close to something I would fix myself now. :-/ I think it goes without saying, but of course I’ll say it anyway, I didn’t stay an ambassador for the college/university; I was asked to leave.

This incident then reminded me of a former job (one that only lasted a week mind you) I had at the mall before deciding to stay at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs. I remember I was told to say that all the cookies were freshly baked and that at the end of the day we donated our cookies “to a local food kitchen but I couldn’t remember the name of it.” Again these were all lies. No one ever checked these out, but I remember asking if any of this was true and was informed, “No, of course not! But [the customers] don’t know that; in fact, they’ll never know any different.” I remember thinking, Really? So we’re lying to them? It just struck me as unbelievable how dishonest so many people could and can be just to earn money! It still does!

I had to relive that whole previously mentioned incident just last Friday when I was asked about their products from someone else and since I’m no longer employed there or was asked to sign a nondisclosure agreement, I figured I’m at liberty to say whatever I darned will please about them. I think now you can see why I am so adamantly against them as a company and lying in general. It hurts others and is just overall not who I am. This is also why I am so upset about my health condition and being lied to about it!

Anyway, all of this honesty vs. lying thing has been bugging me for at least a week now and I had to write an entry about it or something because it’s been a while since I wrote. Also you all know by now I’m trying to help us (I mean that’s what my tagline is for this blog: Helping Other Travelers on Life’s Road) navigate this wonderful, but sometimes difficult, journey/road called life.

Well, I hope this entry (albeit a very long one) has helped you in some way (big or small) and thanks if you kept reading to the very end. :mrgreen: I know it helped me (since I spent most of this entry venting). 😀 Until next time…

Love and prayers, as always! ❤

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 36 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

