Fifteen Years Later, Three Years Later

Fifteen years ago today the USA bonded together after the tragic events of 9-11. As a nation we learned what it means to no longer be invulnerable to terrorism. The War on Terror began and raged on for years; some argue it is still going on today! Fifteen years ago I gained a wonderful friend, though today I have no idea what she’s up to or where she is. I still pray for her every night or whenever the LORD brings her to my mind. ❤

Speaking in that way reminds me of another friend; he often says he “will pray for [me] whenever the LORD brings [me] to mind.” I am praying today for Thayne Thompson as he flies/flew to a convention of some kind out-of-town (out of the state perhaps?). His wife posted on Facebook this morning that he was flying on this day when planes were turned into missiles 15 years ago. Also on Facebook this morning, I was reminded that it was three years ago today that I befriended him on Facebook. I feel I haven’t really known him that long and yet some days it feels longer.

I spent the first four to five months of his first year as the franchisee owner dodging him in many senses of the word. I didn’t really get to know him until I was let go from Disney. When my “pixie dust” fell to the floor the last time, I slowly began my long journey back to Nestle’s and my Nestle family. I remember thinking that it would be so hard to ask for my job back from a man I barely knew, but he surprised me and took me back even though he barely knew me and I barely knew him.

Together Thayne and I learned a lot about each other and what it means to be servants of the LORD and to be leaders. I’m sure we have much more to learn and I can only pray we will be on a journey together for a long time. I have no idea what he’s up to today as our nation bonds together in prayer and remembrance. I know at least he is thinking of our nation and paying for our nation; I’m sure, if he reads his Facebook page, he’s also thinking and praying for us and our relationship.

So today I am thanking God for two great friendships that formed on this day (one 15 years ago and one 3 years ago). I am also remembering all the people and families affected by the tragedy of 9-11 (including the young men who hijacked the planes and their families).

(As an aside note: please pray for me for my endocrinologist appointment tomorrow — not Tuesday as I’d been saying all along — at 10:30 CDT.)

Love and prayers, as always! ❤

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 36 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

