Make Time

I found myself extremely busy today before the store at the mall opened. I hadn’t planned on running late, but the storm that blew through early this morning left lots of debris everywhere in my neighborhood and along my usual path to work and that meant making several detours before winding up at the mall. When I finally clocked in to work it was about 7:57 (a whole 10-15 minutes later than I usually arrive when I open by myself). No time for the Bible today. I thought to myself as I shook my head and walked to the back room. In fact, no time for coffee from Panera either. I had already turned on the oven, always the first thing I do when arriving at the store. I also had seen that the registers were also not functioning properly which meant restarting them after clocking in.

I started the company laptop and began my usual, opening routine. Things started rough, but by about 9:15 a.m. I was more than halfway through and found myself praying. I’m sorry, LORD, but I have no time to read my Bible this morning — let alone talk. As soon as I finished the last word I heard (what I believe was) Him say, Make time, Christina! I sighed and then prayed, Okay, I’ll pray by singing some songs to you from my phone as I finish setting the store up. I could almost feel a smile…yes, feel a smile. I opened my music folder on my phone and turned on the speaker at work. After fumbling about for a minute or two I came to my playlist I called “Work Playlist.” I know it’s not very creative, but it’s something. As the music played, I found myself singing along. Eventually my immediate supervisor (the shift leader manager) came in; he was working across the hall today, but came by the store where I work with him before clocking in at the other store.

“Singing while working? Isn’t that against company policy or something?” he asked. I twirled around as I hadn’t heard him come in. “I don’t think so,” I replied. “Well, it should be,” he said; I rolled my eyes and continued working, but quit singing for a bit.

After a while he left and I started singing again. I didn’t really get the whole store set up completely until about 10:45 or 11:00 a.m., but I got most of it done early enough that there were only a few empty shelves by 10:00 a.m. (opening).

So I guess making time for our LORD paid off; I don’t know why I ever doubt Him, but I find myself being a doubting Thomas more often than not. Anyway, my point today is just make time where you can to be with our LORD and your family. I promise you, you won’t regret it! 😀 (Now I’m off to read my devotionals. 😉 )

Love and prayers, as always! ❤

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 35 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

