Taking a Deep Breath and Starting over (Again!)

Whew! That was a long break I’ve had from this blog; so very sorry I haven’t been back in what seems like ages! Okay, so after all that drama, things are slowly returning to normal (or at least what is normal around here). So what’s “normal” around here? Well, it’s time to elaborate. 🙂

If I failed to mention this, I guess now is as good a time as any to tell you all I am now officially a leader at work. 😀 I am shift leader now and have been for about probably a good two months or so (maybe longer, I’ve lost count by now). It isn’t as bad as I first thought; at first I was very reluctant to take on this new role at work. Why? I mean I had always wanted to be a leader and have always thought it would be awesome to have people tremble before me. I’ve always carved my own path, and strayed from the beaten path. Why wouldn’t I take on this new role? Well, I guess first things first is that I have always been fearful of the unknown and taking a step into something brand new. I never really liked leaving my comfort zone. Other reasons I didn’t want to become a shift leader were selfish really; I didn’t want to potentially giving up my Sundays in the off-chance someone would call in suddenly because of an emergency or worse no one would show up to a shift and simply walk out on the job leaving the store unopened or unattended. Being a shift leader means I have to be willing to work shifts (usually Sundays for whatever reason) others can’t or won’t work for one reason or another; it also means staying later than scheduled or even opening the store from time to time. Again, I was being selfish at the time thinking, I don’t want to give up my Saturday evenings at Mass to work late or even worse coming in on Sunday when I’d rather have dinner with Mom and Steven or sleeping in instead of opening the store. I’d rather just stay a mid-day worker. All these things kept coming back to me, but finally I came to the conclusion to become a shift leader. One perk got me right away, but again it was for selfish reasons; I would get a 25¢ raise and that was awesome! I mean I haven’t been given a raise in a long time (or so it felt to me), so I was like Great! This will add more to my paycheck every two weeks! Seriously, this is ridiculous to anyone who really knows me on a deep and personal level. Sure I want to have a surplus of cash to help others, but I would usually give up a lot of money to make someone else happy even if it meant I wouldn’t get a meal or a “treat” for myself that week (be it a coffee or a piece of candy, etc.). The next few reasons that I took this position trickled in over time and eventually led to me taking the position for all the right reasons. I decided no one else would do as good and I wouldn’t listen to anyone else because again anyone else probably would bungle up the title and not be as reliable. I also thought, Thayne must really trust me and have faith in me if he even is offering this position to me instead of anyone else; why else would he offer this to me? I must really be a leader. I’m up for it! So I figured if someone else sees potential in me, then I must really try and it is a position for me. So here I am; a lowly shift leader! 😀

So after being a shift leader for a good month or so I found myself with a stumbling block of sorts. I had a (now former) co-worker who refused to listen to my assistant manager and Thayne sometimes; heck (s)he even some times would spread lies saying that (s)he knew that they were “Thayne’s favorite worker” and “(his/her) position is secure!” They even said there was no way they could be fired; they even thought I was their best friend. Late last week they got me so upset I actually lost my temper at them at work! I really had no patience any more for them. My blood sugar (glucose) was so high whenever I had to work with them or deal with them. I think I even have a few more gray hairs thanks to them. They no longer work with my friends and me; my blood sugar (glucose) is finally back to normal, too.

Anyway, I’ve had to now work a few Sundays and stay late a few Saturdays. I’ve since learned (or rather re-learned) what I’ve always said and preached (but rarely practiced until recently): others’ needs should go before my own; Jesus said, “The greatest among you shall be the lowliest.”

Lastly, I’m finally adjusting to having about 30 hours a week at work and actually enjoying myself. I am finally able to watch sunrises again and have some quiet time in my bedroom listening to music and reflecting on life; I enjoy now talking with God every evening before bed and will soon start reading my Bible again! 😀 ❤  I am now learning to enjoy weekdays off and time in the evenings with Mom and Steven.

It’s been a long and difficult journey, but things are finally returning to “normal” around here and it’s actually quite nice to see the progress I’ve made as being a leader. Maybe, perhaps, being a leader is going to be the new normal around here and before I know it, I will have my company a success as well. Leadership is starting to finally feel right; maybe I’ve finally graduated into Leadership 201. 😀 Also returning to “normal” means this blog will finally be updated more regularly again! 😉

Love and prayers, as always! ❤

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 36 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taking a Deep Breath and Starting over (Again!)

  1. Pingback: Being a Leader Isn’t Easy | Travelers on the Road

Leave a Reply

