Family Stress Day?!

We tried to make today a fun day for the family, but somehow our trip to the Kansas City Zoo proved to be anything except fun. The first part was when we actually arrived; I was stuck following a bunch of school buses and being directed to the “Chaperone Parking.” After finally getting out of the car, I realized I forgot and left my sunglasses in the car. I wasn’t about to go back for them; I thought I’d just wear my hat the whole time (which I did, but I’m beginning to think my eyes may have become a bit damaged because I failed to wear my sunglasses and I have sensitive eyes because now my eyes still hurt). After making my way down the big hill to the admissions booth I saw a huge mob of mostly kids, but I thought it’d be okay seeing as how usually even though it’s crowded we just take a bit longer to see animals, etc. I “ran” ahead to get tickets, picked what I thought looked like the best line and waited. The person 3 ahead of me had some sort of issue that held the line up for about 3 minutes. Finally only one group ahead of me, but they too had trouble. I was beginning to think I picked the wrong line. When at last it was my turn I had to repeat twice that I had two adults and one senior; the first time the admissions clerk misunderstood me thinking I had 2 adults and 2 kids. I laughed, but said no and corrected her. That’s when we finally got it and I asked what was going on today; a bunch of schools were having field trips was the reply. At last we entered, but I could tell it was going to be a long trip as there were no seats left at the beginning for us to regroup and shove things into my backpack. More trouble ensued later as we tried to make our way around the zoo.

At one point during the trip I needed some food; my head was aching and I was pretty sure that meant my blood sugar was low, but I forgot my meter. I pulled out a snack bar to eat, but Steven was upset I was eating and thought I could wait. I left half of it for later, but it didn’t take long for me to apologize to him and nearly cry. I was also still slightly hurt my schedule for work on Saturday got extended, but you know what? I signed up for that when I became a shift leader. Besides more work means more money and more money means more things I can do with our family and with my company. 🙂

Most of the rest of our visit to the zoo meant just walking through it; I couldn’t see around kids too well and it was hard to maneuver around the strollers, etc. No matter; we finished the trip by being on good terms with each other and I actually learned where I was in retrospect on the way home. I recognized the roads and almost cried because it finally all made sense. 🙂

We went to lunch/dinner at a wonderful submarine sandwich shop that Mom received a gift card from my uncle (her brother) for Mother’s Day. I’m still recovering from that, but I am getting slightly hungry now.

I also tore up a section of the yard by accidentally backing into the grass when I thought I was on the driveway. Steven and I put down grass seed and decided it was probably not a good idea then to mow the yard either.

I guess things could have gone smoother, but then again my family is never known for having the best of luck.

Well, back to work tomorrow and Saturday. I’ll be off Sunday and Monday and back to work Tuesday; off Wednesday and work Thursday through next Sunday. Also on Thursday I will be opening for the second time on my own. I’m not too nervous any more. I made a few mistakes this past Monday, but I’ve learned from them and ready to make amends. 🙂

This coming Monday I may or may not write as that’s Daddy’s “new birthday” or death anniversary date. We’ll see how I feel.

Love and prayers, as always! ❤

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 35 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Family Stress Day?!

  1. Pingback: Taking a Deep Breath and Starting over (Again!) | Travelers on the Road

Leave a Reply

