Steven’s Milestone Birthday

Today marks Steven’s 30th birthday! 😯 I feel like an old maid now; in just a little over 3 months I will be 35!! :-/ Not sure how I feel about that really. Anyway, I’m not the star of today; Steven is!

We started our morning at Perkins for breakfast. I must say their breakfast food is certainly delicious, but HUGE! I think I may still get breakfast for dinner at some point in the future there, but I have to make sure I’m hungry. I got sausage, biscuits, gravy, hash browns, and two eggs. I also drank 2 cups of coffee with cream and sugar (yeah, I know I should’ve had a sugar substitute, but I kinda didn’t want to). Mom got brioche French toast and hot tea. Steven (the birthday boy himself) decided to try some sort of ham, bacon, egg scramble thing with a large glass of milk.

Breakfast took roughly an hour and a half from drive there to drive home (that includes eating, etc.). We arrived home in time for me to switch to a smaller wallet and grab the essentials so we could get to the movie matinée of 11:00 a.m. We decided to see Ratchet and Clank (a CGI film based on a video game of the same name). Not really expecting too much as the reviews mostly said it was not a great movie and very little plot development, we decided at least it would be good for a few laughs and some light-hearted comedy that we all needed (and Steven and I want). We came away thinking it was actually much BETTER than the critics said and I took away an awesome message from it: “You don’t have to do big things to be a hero — just the right things.”

The movie was over at roughly 1:00 p.m. and I had received a text message during the movie asking me to come into work an hour early tomorrow. No problem; I’ll earn my money back that I spent today! 🙂 I also texted back to say we were on our way to the mall as we just got out of the movie and would be by to pick up the cake momentarily.

We got to the mall and somehow I managed to convince Steven to start on the top floor since we were already up there. I just figured I didn’t want to walk around the whole mall carrying his cookie cake that he still had no idea I ordered for him. (I will post a picture in the coming week.)

The walk was over by roughly 2:30 p.m. and now time to start making the homemade pizzas that Steven requested; sorry no photos of these, but boy were they good! Steven requested a stuffed crust pepperoni pizza and a ranch barbecue chicken pizza. I made the latter and enjoyed making it as well as eating it. It’s still my favorite by far! Dinner was over at roughly 4:00 p.m. (yeah early, but we did decide we were only eating two meals since breakfast was so big)

After dinner Steven and I decided to mow the lawn; I didn’t want him to have to mow it tomorrow on his own and potentially get another blister on his other or same foot. 😦 By the time we finished it was about 5:30 p.m. Mom decided to get some “necessary” things from the grocery store just up the street; I told her I’d take her so she didn’t have to walk. Unfortunately this created drama and poor Steven said he doesn’t even catch a break on his birthday from all the drama. I sadly agreed and gave him a hug. He slammed the doors shut and made his way inside. I convinced Mom that I’d take her to the store.

By the time we got home from the store it was roughly 6:00 p.m. Mom still wanted a walk; I thought it would be too busy to go anywhere except around the neighborhood. So a walk around the neighborhood started at roughly 6:05 p.m. I would have preferred a run/jog but she can’t do that.

Anyway we  just got back at roughly 7:00 p.m. I took a photo of Steven’s cake (which I promise will be up here sometime within a week). Now I’m here typing to you all and trying to relax before having dessert (the cake) and Steven opening presents. 🙂

So I guess that’s today in not so much of a summary. Hope everyone enjoyed reading about the day as much as I enjoyed living through (most of) it!

Love and prayers, as always! ❤

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 35 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

