Birthday Follow-up and Nature Can Be Downright Freaky Sometimes

Okay, I’ll begin tonight’s post by telling about my birthday (yesterday). I had a fairly good birthday. I had to work (as I guessed I would), but I received a lot of tips (I’m sure of it) from wearing my birthday badge (I’ll post a photo of it later this week) and lots of kids noticing it and telling their older family member(s) about it. This garnered me more than a few dollars (or so I’m guessing as I haven’t looked in my tip envelope yet). I also had a trio of gentlemen sing happy birthday to me while I was giving samples of ice cream. I’ve never felt so happy and yet embarrassed at the same time. Also the morning of my birthday before changing into my work uniform I found a birthday card from Mommy. 😀 In fact it’s still sitting on my desk right now on my left. Basically it’s a card with Snoopy (from Peanuts) on it saying “Daughter I love you” and open it up and Snoopy has a big smile on his face and arms outstretched “This much!* *Hug Shown is Smaller Than Actual Size.” She also wrote a brief note saying “Love always, Mom or Mommy I’m sorry if I don’t show you enough Please forgive me!!” How could I not?! I have unconditional love for her even if sometimes I want to pull my hair out sometimes with her.

For breakfast I had my favorite: chocolate chip pancakes (but could only eat two). Then lunch came courtesy of my current manager and friend. She ordered pizza and bread sticks for everyone because not only was it my birthday but one of my co-worker’s last day. :-/ I was just going to have a small salad for lunch because I knew Mom was fixing my birthday dinner: spaghetti red (spaghetti noodles with ground turkey and spaghetti sauce) and Texas toast. 🙂 That didn’t happen and I ended up eating tons more than I should have. Dessert at home was a chocolate covered strawberry pizza (with a sugar cookie for the crust). That was totally yummy! 😀

I only received a few gifts (but I picked them all out and should have known what they were, however, I forgot). They were: Scribblenauts for the WiiU, couple of bras, a Kansas City Royals T-shirt, and a sleep shirt that says “Good Morning, Gorgeous!” All in all it was a fairly good birthday. No day is complete without SOME drama, so I had a little with Mom (as usual), but what do I expect any more?! :-/

Now on to today. Why is nature so freaky and scary sometimes? Hmm? I mean today I went to get my car filled at the gas station and there was this rather large (for an insect) bug perched on top of the pump display. 😯 That thing scared the heck out of me!!! I’m going to guess (because I don’t want to research it again and scare myself again) it was about 8 inches or so long and it had to be a Praying Mantis or something very similar. But my God! That thing scared the heck out of me! I would have taken a photo with my cell phone, but that thing scared me so bad I couldn’t hold anything straight!

When I got home, Steven told me that a squirrel scared him. He was getting things ready to mow the lawn with me when I got back, but when he went to unchain my push mower from where we keep it he heard some noise near him. Startled, he jumped back only to see a squirrel scamper away across the neighbor’s wooden fence! Just as we made our way to the fence to make sure our gate was opened so I could easily mow around that part of the yard, we saw a 6-8 inch grayish and golden-colored “stone” and turned it around to find it was actually very dirty sap from one of our pine trees. That was kind of freaky, too (then again I’m freaked out by anything that has darker holes in it for some reason). As I was making my way back to my mower I saw part of a pine cone that was chopped up and thought it was some sort of bug; I jumped back and then looked again. Just a pine cone. We got started and then halfway around the yard I saw something else that I thought was a dead crow and I freaked out again. No, it wasn’t a dead crow; it was just a bunch of dead leaves and other debris wedged up against our French drain.

Seriously! Why does nature have to be downright freaky sometimes?! Oh well, all in all a fairly good birthday and freaky nature made up most of my weekend. 🙂

Love and prayers!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 36 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

