Love and Marriage

I’d be amiss if I didn’t discuss the recent legalization of same-sex union/marriage in the United States. I procrastinated about talking about such a topic because I find that it’s so controversial and whatever stance I take I’ll probably make someone upset. I’ll make my point simple and as unbiased as possible.

First of all the joining of two people according to the Catholic Catechism is strictly for a man and a woman. The act of two people of the same gender is prohibited. When two people marry in the Catholic Church they are asking God to bless their marriage and to enter into it with them. Also God made us in God’s own image and likeness (according to the Book of Genesis); therefore, in my opinion, God cannot be both hetero- and homo-sexual or can God?

Second of all Jesus said, “Love your neighbor as yourself.” If this is the case then we are able to love all and respect all. Also this begs me to ask, “Where in the Bible did Jesus/God mention that homosexuality is wrong?” According to my Life Application Bible, it is found in Leviticus 18:22 and states “Do not practice homosexuality; it is a detestable sin.” This being said I remember studying in my college/university religious studies classes that Jesus came to bring a new order and new laws and do away with the old order and old laws. If this is the case no where in the Gospels does Jesus ever say anything about homosexuals.

My final, and most important point on my stance, is this: namely (as stated in my About Christy page) I am friends with both gays and lesbians (I’d also like to add trans-genders and bisexual as well as heterosexuals and asexuals to this now). With this fact, it makes it nearly impossible for me to side with any one group. Also just because I am not a lesbian, transgender, etc. I cannot fully understand. Besides which, if God is indeed all loving and forgiving then who am I to judge what is wrong or right? It is God alone who can judge them. If God created them in God’s own image then that makes God homosexual. Oh no! What have we done?! But wait! God is heterosexual! But God can also be homosexual because God created these people. AHHH! So therein lies the problem. It’s a catch-22.

So what’s my stance? I just want everyone to be happy. I like to see my friends happy and I’m very confused on the whole same-sex union/marriage issue. I have friends who are all over the board and I myself cannot even understand it all! All I ask is that everyone be tolerant or considerate of those whose beliefs clash with your own. Also please don’t judge me either on my stance.

Love and prayers!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 36 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

