I’m Humbled

Lots has happened over the course of 3 days and lots that could be said and done, but leaders don’t (or shouldn’t) behave childish and brag or look down upon others. No, leaders (good leaders) are adult-like and humble.

Sunday evening I was deeply humbled and dumbfounded (in a good way). At our meeting for work, a lot of news was mentioned and reviews, etc. Some awards were also given out last night. Most were for contests that had occurred over the past weeks and involved many people getting gift cards for winning them. I received no such prizes. There, however, was one award given out last night that I usually dread because (in the past) I often felt that it was only ever won by people who must have kissed up or did something to make themselves winners. This award is: employee of the month.

Here’s a brief description (as best I can summarize) of the winner: she’s gradually increased her upsell ability, received lots of positive reviews from customers, stepped up when times called for a leader or things got tough, she’s been with the company a long time (almost 5 years), and she’s almost always available to work when she’s scheduled. Any ideas who this employee is? šŸ˜‰ Yes, it’s me! I am the employee of the month!

I’m humbled to say the very least. I could only say “thank you” over and over again last night. It did not occur to me until this morning what a profound honor this is. I’m still in a semi-shock over this because this sort of thing only happens to me in dreams. I couldn’t do this alone; oh no, not at all! I give thanks to God for this great honor. It is with Him that I do my work; it’s Jesus I serve when I serve others (our guests at Nestle/Haagen-Dazs). I see Jesus in even the smallest child or the frailest person.

It didn’t even become reality until just hours before I was to go to work today. Aren’t we supposed to do these things that I do? Aren’t these things just part of our job description? Regardless, I feel humbled and happy to know my hard work has finally paid off! Jesus has helped others to see what I do and hopefully to follow my example as I follow Jesus’ example. To be truly great, one must humble him (her)self ; as Jesus said, “I came not to be served, but to serve.” What a great honor! And what an honor it is to be just like Him in serving others!

I’m humbled! Thank you! Thank you, Jesus! Thank you, God! Thank you, Kylie! Thank you, Thayne!

Love and prayers!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 35 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

