Becoming a Leader

I guess being a leader is not really something that one just does — unless you’re running for a political office, but even then it’s debatable if one is really a leader or if it’s just a title given that person because of the office. Anyway, I guess this whole year and part of last year, I’ve been learning more and more of what it takes to be a successful (read: “effective”) leader. I’m also starting to be more and more of a leader and accepting that as a role that has really always been mine, but I’ve been reluctant to take it.

Without going into much detail (for the safety and security of all involved), I can say I had to step up a lot today at work. It just sort of fell into my lap. Once again, I wasn’t prepared for it, but I made the best of it. I’ve always heard the saying that you know who you really are when you’re put in a time of crisis. You either cringe and cower — a.k.a flee the scene (and I know some who will cry or throw a tantrum), or you will step up and take control (and I know a few who will boldly proclaim “I’m in charge! Out of my way!” and you’d better get out of their way 😐 ).

I’ve probably been more of the latter, which begs to say that makes me a leader. Now while I may not boldly proclaim “I’m in charge; everyone listen to me or get the heck out of my way!” I do lead by example and I do put my foot down on occasion (or at least I’m starting to do so).

I don’t know much of the details as to why I was in control again, but I made the most of it and tried to stay calm and show authority when/where it was needed. I hate then having to leave someone else in control when I leave, but even leaders need to leave at times (even if it is just because their shift is up).

So I guess I am becoming a leader and if I wasn’t in charge…gosh, I don’t even want to think what would have happened today at work! Same goes for home a lot of times recently. If I don’t stand up and put my foot down at times, things will get considerably worse and I don’t even want to think about that!

Well, I guess we’ll just have to see what develops next and if/when my hard work is acknowledged! If not, it’s okay, I know God sees what I’m doing and will one day reward me in heaven! 😀

Love and prayers!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 36 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Becoming a Leader

  1. Pingback: Brief Update to Saturday’s Post | Travelers on the Road

  2. Pingback: A Time for Healing | Travelers on the Road

Leave a Reply

