My Prayer for Patience

I don’t have a single prayer or even an official prayer for patience. I’m sorry, you’ll just have to settle for my simple prayer that I said while waiting my turn at the traffic light just before you get to the mall where I work. “Lord,” I prayed, “please give me patience today. I don’t know if I can handle all that has been thrown at me this past week without losing my temper at least once.” Then, as if on cue, a fire truck barreled through the intersection with its sirens blaring and causing me to miss my turn to go through the intersection on my side. As it crossed, I looked at my cell phone for the time (my clock in my car is set about 2-3 minutes fast, on purpose — but we’ll talk about that some other time, pun intended). Wonderful! Now I’m going to be late most likely. I thought to myself. I also remembered that the people involved could possibly need the fire truck more than I; also about then I remembered; I just finished praying for patience. Okay, so about that prayerI could sort of hear my angel (or God?) saying. “I know, I know,” I said. Then when it was finally my turn, I made my way (finally) into the parking lot where I normally park. “Oh great! Not a place to park and this is going to make me even later!” I fumed to myself, but also where again I remembered my prayer for patience. I smiled. “Lord, take care of those involved and I’ll look elsewhere for a parking place.” I turned around and headed to another parking lot. Just after turning in the first row I thought of turning down, 3 slots in, I found my parking slot. “It’s going to be a long walk today!”

Well, I got to work and had no idea that I was going to be super busy either. Things really picked up around 2:30-3:00. I hardly had any time to rest let alone get myself a drink. I also had no time to stock cookies, but I worked that long stretch for at least an hour and half until my relief came in at 4:00 (even then though I waited on one last customer who needed a drink of Sprite). I never bought my iced coffee or latte today. That’s okay; I didn’t really need it that bad anyway. I was patient enough to wait until tonight when I got home, but I did get a large glass of water from the Espresso Bar on my way out.

So about that prayer for patience? I’m glad I prayed for it and I’m glad I received it today! I don’t know how I could or would have made it without my patience! Thanks, LORD!

Love and prayers!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 35 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

