I Cried a Little Today

I don’t normally share when I cry; it’s not that I don’t want someone to see me and feel weak in front of others (well, maybe to some extent I guess it’s true). Anyway, I guess the reason I don’t share is that I feel it’s hard to explain without others jumping to the conclusion I’m depressed again (not getting into that topic again); that may also be why I don’t want people seeing me when I’m crying. So why was I crying?

Well, after Steven took Mom for a walk around the mall this morning, I started listening to music on my phone (I could have easily played music on my computer or the radio, but I chose my phone just in case someone would call or text me) and a couple of songs came on that made me think of my relationship with Steven. I also recalled the one that played while I was at work Thursday or Friday, too.

It seems Steven and I have an unusual relationship that most siblings don’t have and I’m grateful for it. We seem closer than family, but not in an incest kind of way; it’s like friendship, camaraderie. Anyway, so I choked up a bit because it’s hard to find time to be with him or even explain to others how we feel sometimes.

Anyways, I guess I’ll share the songs (in the off-chance I hadn’t shared them in this blog before). I’ll also report back Tuesday!

Well, you and I
We’re buddies
And we’ve been since we first met
Me and you
Well we’ve sure been through
Our share of laughter and regret

Lord knows we’ve had our bad days
And more than once we’ve disagreed
But you’ve always been a friend to me

You can be so stubborn
There’s times I think you just like to fight
And I hope and pray
I live to see a day
When you say I might be right

And there’s times I’d rather kill you
Than listen to your honesty
But you’ve always been a friend to me

You’ve always been
Time and again
The one to take my hand
And show to me it’s okay to be
Just the way I am
With no apology

Oh you’ve always been
And you will ’til God knows when
Yes you’ve always been a friend to me

“A Friend to Me” Garth Brooks, 1997.

(first verse)
Yeah
Yeah
How did it come to this
After all we been through
Two of a pair now on opposite sides
From the very start with honor we dueled
We watched each other’s back
And we battled with pride

We’re closer than brothers
Now we’re have to fight each other
And we trust our fate
To the heart of the cards

(chorus)
No matter what
Let the game begin
No matter what
May the best man win
No matter what
We’re in this together
No matter what
We’ll be friends forever
No matter what

(second verse)
Yeah
Yeah
It’s been you and me
Hanging out playing games
Didn’t ever think it would get this hard
Times running out
And so much at stake
Everything riding on the turn of a card

We’ll show them what we’re made of
As we fight for the ones we love
And we’ll be friends to the very end

(chorus)
No matter what
Let the game begin
No matter what
May the best man win
No matter what
We’re in this together
No matter what
We’ll be friends forever
No matter what

(third verse)
Yeah
I don’t wanna give up
But I will never give in
Don’t wanna duel with my very best friend
We’re an equal match
And we win every play
With so much at stake
I just can’t walk away
Though I need a victory
You always meant the world to me
And that’s one thing that will never change

(chorus)
No matter what
Let the game begin
No matter what
May the best man win
No matter what
We’re in this together
No matter what
We’ll be friends forever, yeah
No matter what
Let the game begin
No matter what
May the best man win
No matter what
We’re in this together
No matter what
We’ll be friends forever
No matter what

“No Matter What” John Siegler and Llyod Goldfine, 2002.

When you’re the best of friends
Having so much fun together
You’re not even aware, you’re such a funny pair
You’re the best of friends

Life’s a happy game
You could clown around forever
Neither one of you sees, your natural boundaries
Life’s one happy game

If only the world wouldn’t get in the way
If only people would just let you play
They say you’re both being fools
You’re breaking all the rules
They can’t understand, the magic of your wonderland
Hu-hu-hu

When you’re the best of friends
Sharing all that you discover
When that moment has past, will that friendship last?
Who can say? There’s a way!
Oh I hope… I hope it never ends
‘Cause you’re the best of friends

Best of Friends” Richard Johnston, Stan Fidel, and Pearl Bailey, 1981.

Love and prayers!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 35 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

