Hanging on to What We’ve Got

I am hanging on to what we’ve got right now and it’s a scary thought. I think it’s just hit me how serious, dire even, our situation is. I am the only one working and being paid for it. Sadly if something were to happen tomorrow (or even God forbid, tonight) to Mom or Steven, the remaining 2 members would not be able to pay for the treatments or, in a worst case scenario, a funeral.

I ask you to not post any comments back to me at this time regarding this post and our situation. Why? Because I’m too emotionally unstable to handle it. I don’t even know why I’m posting about this right now; I guess it’s because writing helps me to put thoughts and emotions at ease or in a frame of mind that’s easier for me to explain and help others who are in similar situations.

It’s time for a change and we’re hanging on to what we’ve got right now; as you might have guessed, to help me deal with this and for your benefit (and possibly to lighten the mood a bit), here are the lyrics to the song that’s helping me right now feel a bit better.

Once upon a time not so long ago:
Tommy used to work on the docks
union’s been on strike

He’s down on his luck – It’s tough
so tough.
Gina works the diner all day
working for her man

She brings home her pay for love
for love.

She says: We’ve got to hold on to what we’ve got
‘Cause it doesn’t make a difference if we make it or not.
We’ve got each other and that’s a lot for love –
We’ll give it a shot.

We’re half way there – Livin’ on a prayer

Take my hand and we’ll make it
I swear – livin’ on a prayer.

Tommy got his six string in hock.
Now he’s holding in what he used to make it talk –
So tough
it’s tough.
Gina dreams of running away
when she cries in the night
Tommy whispers: Baby
it’s okay
someday.

We’ve got to hold on to what we’ve got . . .
We’re half way there – Livin’ on a prayer
. . .

We’ve got to hold on ready or not

You live for the fight when it’s all that you’ve got.

We’re half way there – Livin’ on a prayer
. . .
We’re half way there – Livin’ on a prayer
. . .
We’re half way there – Livin’ on a prayer

“Living on a Prayer” by Bon Jovi, 1986

Love and prayers!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 36 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

