Leonardo: Leader in Blue

I couldn’t think of anyone to contrast Leonardo with, so today I’m just going to focus on him. Leonardo is a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle. He is the leader of the four turtles and (in the most recent reincarnation) April O’Neil and Casey Jones. He is known as “the leader in blue” in the most recent song and has to do with the fact his bandana is blue (my favorite color!). I’ll begin by saying originally, Leo was not my favorite. I was like most kids growing up with the first animated (cartoon) series in the late ’80s and into the early ’90s; my favorite then was Michelangelo (didn’t everyone like Mikey?).

Anyway, Leo never explicitly (that I recall) states he’s the leader but everyone knows he is the leader and usually treats him as such. As with most leaders, or so I’m learning, Leo is mocked by those who desire to be leaders but do not possess the necessary traits or qualities. Leo is repeatedly picked on by Raphael (I feel they’re polar opposites, but I could be wrong). This also brings up a good point: leaders don’t usually state they are such and normally let others introduce them as the leader. I think it has to do with another important couple of traits of leaders: modesty and humility.

Leo is modest and doesn’t usually want to initiate credit for anything that he did or thought up; instead he states that as a team they (the other ninja turtles — his brothers –and himself) managed to achieve the desired or favorable outcome. I have learned, or rather observed when looking from an outsider’s perspective, I am the same way. I do not take credit for anything that happens that is positive. I usually say that my family and I achieved something or my co-workers and I achieved something. It’s common for me to not take credit for something. I don’t know why I do this and yet desire credit and attention all the same. I guess I want someone else to notice and then say I deserve the credit or attention even if I would rather give all the credit and praise to the others on the team as well. That’s not to say Leo and I are not team players; on the contrary, usually Leo and I do quite well on a team. Although, I would have to say he probably does a better job than I do; I rarely step up to the challenge and say I’ll take charge of the group. I’m always afraid of letting someone down and not living up to the expectations set upon me. This is very similar to my humility.Humility for the most part seems to come natural to me. I humble myself so much that sometimes I do not even want to be someone who stands out from the crowd. I guess I’m just too humble sometimes for my own good. If I get praise, I blush and stammer. It’s not easy for me to be proud of my accomplishments; some might call this low self-esteem. I’m not sure if that’s it or not, but I just know I tend to not want to be singled out for any reason — good or bad!

Also Leo is a great leader in that he puts others’ needs ahead of his own. I also used to do this, but it led to me becoming diabetic and usually (nowadays) I become sick or depressed. I have since learned to balance my time and needs with those of others’ needs and time.

All this said leads me to an interesting conclusion; Leonardo is not only now my favorite of the ninja turtles and an awesome leader, but he is also now one of my role models! 😀

Love and Prayers!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 36 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

