Hans Vs. Franklin D. Roosevelt

Okay I’ll admit this wasn’t the best pair I could come up with and I’m also at this point assuming most everyone has seen Frozen. Allow me to explain my two leaders. Hans is from Frozen and Franklin Delano Roosevelt was the president of the United States during the Great Depression (if memory serves me correctly). Without further ado, I’ll begin with Hans and move on to President Roosevelt.

Hans has 12 older brothers and is 13th in line to the throne back in his hometown. This gives him a sense of leadership. In due time he could have been the king, but instead he’s decided to hurry things along by marrying into the leadership. He decides to pursue Princess Anna. If Queen Elsa hadn’t gone into a rage over giving her blessing to them to get married. Anyway, here’s why I feel he wasn’t a great leader. When Anna left to go find her sister, Hans gave away most of the castle’s resources to help the villagers. Now while this seems like a good thing, he actually was doing this because he wanted to make them believe he was being a very kindhearted prince, but he was really just doing this to abuse the authority he was given by Anna. He was hoping to gain her trust so he could marry her and become leader. I suppose this could have worked, but he would have had to wait until Elsa died and Anna became queen. He just was abusing his powers and that makes him a poor leader.

President Roosevelt, on the other hand, used his authority to reassure the people of the United States of how things were progressing and getting better. He started what he called “Fireside Chats.” These were radio programs that were broadcast over national radio once a week (but not EVERY week); he was welcomed into the home of the American families and they trusted him to tell them how well America was doing in fighting the Depression. They didn’t use TV because they weren’t widely available at the time. President Roosevelt also had a soothing voice that could easily help put the minds of many Americans at ease. He wasn’t doing these chats as a ruse, like Hans was doing with the villagers, President Roosevelt was actually doing these to honestly help people and inform them of what was going on and how their lives would be better.

In a nutshell, being a good leader means not abusing the power that you’ve been given (like Hans); instead, like President Franklin Delano Roosevelt, you should use your power to aid your followers and let them know you are all in this together and will get through it the same way — together! So until next time…

Love and prayers!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 36 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

