What Makes a Good Leader?

So I got to thinking after last night’s post, what actually makes someone a good leader? Who am I to judge? Maybe the not so good leaders I’ve been thinking of using in these posts were really just misunderstood. Right? I mean maybe they just didn’t know any better. Well, I guess one could argue that. And you know I really am not one to judge, but there is definitely some criteria that can be used in determining who is a good leader and who is not as good. I mean, truthfully there are always ways of being objective. This is why I decided tonight to address what criteria I am using to base my good and not so good leaders against and so you can better understand why I’ve categorized them as such.

Good leaders do and be the following (and possibly more):

  • They’re honest or truthful even when it doesn’t benefit them.
  • They communicate and sometimes OVER communicate to make sure everyone understands what needs to be done and why.
  • Be able to joke and have fun; no one should be stressed to the point of being depressed.
  • Approachable or personable; wouldn’t you like to be able to talk to someone and not feel afraid to talk to them about something? I know I would!
  • Confident; you have to believe in yourself and your team (or family) because if you don’t they sure won’t believe in themselves. It’s strange but people have a hard time believing they can do anything if left to their own vices or so I’ve been told.
  • Bold/assertive and creative; remember what I said yesterday about Ronald Reagan? Imagine if he hadn’t been bold enough to stand up to Mikhail Gorbachev; we’d probably still be in the Cold War and no one would feel safe. Also you have to find a unique way to solve problems that seem fun or creative — someway to set yourself apart from everyone else otherwise you’re just another face in the crowd.
  • Be a team player! It’s not just about an individual, it’s about a group of individuals working towards a common goal.

Okay, now I’ll stop and think on those tonight and tomorrow and report back tomorrow evening. Until then…

Love and prayers!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 35 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Makes a Good Leader?

  1. Pingback: Saint White Rabbit?! | Travelers on the Road

Leave a Reply

