This Was Supposed to be a Day to Relax

Well, today was supposed to be my day to relax and rejuvenate before returning to work tomorrow. It was not! 😥 Just about everything went wrong today. Let’s begin shall we?

I started out going to the grocery store for some needed items for dinner and lunch tomorrow. When I got home, someone decided to park their SUV half blocking my driveway and in a no parking zone on my side of the street. About 30 minutes later, the car was moved and we (Steven, Mom, and I) decided to go for a walk around the mall. By the time we finished our walk it was about 1pm (we left the house around 11:30am). Well, on our way home, I noticed my oil light kept coming on in my car. Since I have what I call “dummy lights” and no gauges per se on my car, I didn’t know exactly what was wrong. So Steven and I decided that we would check out my oil when we got home. I parked the car in the carport (and let Mom in to start on dinner — we always have an early dinner on Sundays); Steven and I then started checking the oil. Come to find out I was low on oil. I mean REALLY low (but we didn’t know how low until after dinner). Well, after dinner Steven thought we’d just head down the street to Wal-Mart and pick up a few quarts of oil. Nope, not as easy as we thought. Wal-Mart was sold out of my oil, so we had to climb back into his car and drive to the car parts’ store. After arriving at the checkout we found out we were $2.15 short in cash, so I had to put the rest on my debit card. By the time we got it home and started measuring that’s when we realized how low I really was. I was actually 3 quarts low on oil. 😯 How did I manage to drive on such little oil?! Still not sure. Anyway as we were finishing up, Mom was disappointed we didn’t tell her we were home and said she was going to go for a walk around the neighborhood. Uh, it’s very humid today and I know she doesn’t do well walking far on her own any more. So I said, I’d go with her. That just upset her more, but I calmed her down and after we finished Mom and I headed out for a short (1 hour approximately) walk around the neighborhood.

When we got home I started messing around with some things on my laptop. That’s when I remembered I was going to do some bookkeeping. So I decided that’s exactly what I would do. But my evening wasn’t done yet. Mom found out her blood pressure machines/devices were on the fritz and she really had to know her blood pressure. So I took back to the grocery store to take it. We got back home and I was just beginning to get comfy when some loud party interrupted Steven and me from our respected tasks. Steven told me I should either call the nonemergency number for the police or drive by (since we live less than a mile to the police station). I also had no idea where the noise was coming from, so Mom and I got in the car a drove around only to find out it was at the park just down the street. So Mom and I drove to the police station only to find out that one, it wasn’t opened for “walk-ins” today and two, the lone officer I did find was just about to go out to take care of a raccoon who was in harm’s way and injured. So after coming home I emailed the city for someone to take care of it. As far as I know nothing was done about it, but, luckily, it’s quiet again and I can actually get some sleep.

All in all I don’t think anything meaningful ever got done today and I’m still tired. 😥 I hope I’ll get more rest/sleep tonight.

Love and Prayers!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 35 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

