The Magic Fades

The magic fades away slowly. The pixie dust slowly falls to the floor. My last guest leaves. A fellow cast member takes on my role. I turn my back on the store that brought me much joy these past four months. Yesterday, I tossed my red apron into the open locker backstage for the last time this season. As I left The Disney Store last night, I took a deep breath and headed toward the parking lot. I did not get to stay at Disney past yesterday; I had been hired on as a seasonal worker in hopes that I could continue past January 1st, but I didn’t make the cut. I have, however, been told that I will be able to come back and reapply next seasonal shift if I so desire and would be welcomed back with open arms. You can be sure I will do just that. 😀

So as the magic slowly fades away, the pixie dust falls to the floor, and I walk by the store each day, a little part of me will always be there. I will not forget to leave each guest at Nestle’s feeling just a bit happier. Maybe I’ll get a smile here or there. Perhaps even a hug will come at some point. For now, I’ll just keep that magic in my heart and a little pixie dust in case I want to fly to Neverland at some point in the future. After all, Disney is very much a part of me now (more than it has ever been) and Neverland is not that far either (in fact it is the second star on the right and straight on toward ’til morning). Peter Pan will wait for me in that place between sleeping and being awake (where you can still remember dreaming). The Disney Store is also just down the hall from Nestle’s.

I can visit every day. I will have a magical day even if I’m not at Disney. I will never grow up. I’ll visit with Peter Pan, too. Magic may fade away and I may not be as cheerful as I had been at Disney, but I’ll definitely try to be. And when September rolls around again, you can be sure I’ll be one of the first to apply for a seasonal position once more.

Don’t lose sight of the young and innocence of childhood and what it means to see the world through the eyes of a child. Let Peter Pan whisk you away to Neverland. Keep some pixie dust in your pocket and always remember to not let that magic fade away!

God, bless us — everyone!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 36 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Magic Fades

  1. Pingback: Fifteen Years Later, Three Years Later | Travelers on the Road

Leave a Reply

