My 32nd Birthday in Review

Well, my 32nd birthday came and went without much excitement. Mom bought me a cookie cake from the grocery store; we enjoyed a taco dinner; I received a few gifts. Not much else to say. I attended the Assumption Vigil Mass on Wednesday, so we didn’t go to Mass on my birthday for the second year in a row. I was amazed at how the man proclaimed the First Reading that evening. It was breathtaking! I have never heard anyone read that portion of the Bible with so much enthusiasm in my life. I doubt I could even do it. Which reading? Revelations 11:19a; 12:1-6a, 10ab to be exact.

God’s temple in heaven was opened,
and the ark of his covenant could be seen in the temple.

A great sign appeared in the sky, a woman clothed with the sun,
with the moon under her feet,
and on her head a crown of twelve stars.
She was with child and wailed aloud in pain as she labored to give birth.
Then another sign appeared in the sky;
it was a huge red dragon, with seven heads and ten horns,
and on its heads were seven diadems.
Its tail swept away a third of the stars in the sky
and hurled them down to the earth.
Then the dragon stood before the woman about to give birth,
to devour her child when she gave birth.
She gave birth to a son, a male child,
destined to rule all the nations with an iron rod.
Her child was caught up to God and his throne.
The woman herself fled into the desert
where she had a place prepared by God.

Then I heard a loud voice in heaven say:
“Now have salvation and power come,
and the Kingdom of our God
and the authority of his Anointed One.”

Also I was able to sing my favorite song — “Magnificant — And Holy Is Your Name” by David Haas.

1. My soul is filled with joy
as I sing to God my savior:
you have looked upon your servant,
you have visited your people.

Refrain
And holy is your name through all generations!
Everlasting is your mercy to the people you have chosen,
and holy is your name.

2. I am lowly as a child,
but I know from this day forward
that my name will be remembered,
for all will call me blessed.

3. I proclaim the pow’r of God,
you do marvels for your servants;
though you scatter the proud-hearted
and destroy the might of princes.

4. To the hungry you give food,
send the rich away empty.
In your mercy you are mindful
of the people you have chosen.

5. In your love you now fulfill
what you promised to your people.
I will praise you, Lord, my savior,
everlasting is your mercy.

If you can find a video or audio recording of this, I’d highly recommend hearing it. It is very beautiful, and I so want this to be played at my funeral when I pass from this life to the next. Also, this is one song that I constantly am singing to myself when I’m sure no one is listening (or so I think). I guess if you ever catch me singing you’ll hear it, but as soon as I know you’re listening I’ll probably shut up. Why? I get stage fright when I sing in front of others for whatever reason (yet I was able to sing for someone only once when it wasn’t required of me, e.g., for my grade in Choir while in high school).

Okay so now onto my presents. A Swiss Army pocket knife, a shruiken (or ninja star) and stand printed on our 3D printer, Luigi’s Mansion: Dark Moon for the Nintendo 3DS, and a book.

My 32nd Birthday Gifts!

My 32nd Birthday Gifts!

And in case you’re curious of my birthday cookie cake, here’s that picture too!

My 32nd birthday cookie cake, SOME birthday cards, and me! ^_^

My 32nd birthday cookie cake, SOME birthday cards, and me! ^_^

Mom took this photo so I apologize if it’s a bit blurry. On the other hand, I’m not going to apologize for the fact that I have just now noticed just how wonderful I look! I normally, if you recall, hate my photo being taken. Now, however, I’ve noticed a new side of myself. I no longer look like I’m 3 months pregnant! 😀 I am so happy! I am so close to my goal weight (once more) and maybe this time I can actually do it! (Sorry for all the “!”s, but I’m just so happy and excited.) Anyway, I hope you enjoyed my birthday photos as much as I enjoyed my birthday.

God, bless us — everyone!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 36 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My 32nd Birthday in Review

  1. Pingback: Never Missed You So Much | Travelers on the Road

Leave a Reply

