Trinity Sunday 2013

The Gospel reading for this Sunday really made me think back to how I relate to God the most. I also thought of this as I listened to Fr. Mike’s homily last night. He was talking about how some people tell him that they can relate better to one of the three forms of God better than another. That had me thinking back to before I was able to fully live my faith and put God as number one in my life. This also brought a wonderful song into my head and I realized that much has changed in how I view God now.

At first the song seemed to actually say the reverse of what I thought. The lyrics (which you’ll read all of them later on in this entry) originally say, “It seems too easy to call you ‘Savior’; Not close enough to call you ‘God,'” however, I always said “It seems too easy to call you ‘God’; Not close enough to call you ‘Savior.'” Why? Well, you see I always felt that it was easy to say God was my creator and made everything, but I didn’t feel God was close enough to me or knew me well enough to have me call Him a “Savior.” I also didn’t feel close enough to Him yet either.

That all changed by about 2000. I was a freshman in college (university) and my roommate was a very devout evangelical Christian. She believed strongly in Jesus being one’s personal Savior. One night she asked me if I had accepted Jesus into my heart and as my personal Savior; I hadn’t as of that night. I spent that entire night awake talking with her about Jesus and Salvation History. I ended up changing almost over night (that night). I accepted Jesus as my Savior and my life and world have never been the same since!

Now, it’s time for the lyrics. For those of you who are very into Christian music, you’ve probably all ready guessed the song based on the quote earlier; as for those of you who don’t, the song is “Love Song for a Savior” by Jars of Clay. Here you go! (The lyrics and a YouTube video of it being performed live.)

In open fields of wild flowers,
She breathes the air and flies away
She thanks her Jesus for the daisies and the roses
In no simple language
Someday she’ll understand the meaning of it all

He’s more than the laughter or the stars in the heavens
As close a heartbeat or a song on her lips
Someday she’ll trust Him and learn how to see Him
Someday He’ll call her and she will come running
And fall in His arms and the tears will fall down and she’ll pray,

I want to fall in love with You
I want to fall in love with You
I want to fall in love with You
I want to fall in love with You

Sitting silent wearing Sunday best
The sermon echoes through the walls
A great salvation through it calls to the people
Who stare into nowhere, and can’t feel the chains on their souls

He’s more than the laughter or the stars in the heavens
As close a heartbeat or a song on our lips
Someday we’ll trust Him and learn how to see Him
Someday He’ll call us and we will come running
And fall in His arms and the tears will fall down and we’ll pray,

I want to fall in love with You
I want to fall in love with You
I want to fall in love with You
I want to fall in love with You

It seems too easy to call you “Savior”
Not close enough to call you “God”
So as I sit and think of words I can mention
To show my devotion

I want to fall in love with You
I want to fall in love with You
I want to fall in love with You
I want to fall in love with You

I want to fall in love with You
I want to fall in love with You
I want to fall in love with You
I want to fall in love with You

(My heart beats for You)

“Love Song for a Savior” Jars of Clay, 1996

God, bless us — everyone!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 36 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

