My Life’s Theme Song

I have many songs that fit different points in my life. You’ve probably noticed that if you’ve been reading this blog for very long, and I’m pretty sure you noticed times in your life when a song seems appropriate for that time. I was actually asked once, don’t remember if it was a class; retreat; counseling session, but whenever or whatever the reason to make a life soundtrack. I thought long and hard about the songs. I don’t remember all the songs I picked then, but if I had to do it all over my overlying theme would definitely be Danny’s Song. For those of you unfamiliar with the song or even the lyrics, no fear I will post them at the end and I highly recommend listening to it on YouTube or anywhere you can.

The background to this song is something that remained a mystery to me until tonight. I was searching for the lyrics when I decided, You know what? I don’t really know the point of this song. I wonder if it was meant to be a romantic song or just something that was meant to sound good and give a great meaning. I think I’ll look it up tonight. And look it up I did. I found out that this song was written by Kenny Loggins for his brother Danny in honor of Danny’s brother’s son being born. I thought how wonderful it must be to have a song dedicated to you as a baby and not know it until probably many years later. What an awesome thought!

Anyway, what inspired me to write this tonight was actually what happened actually last night as I was changing into my pajamas. I was in the master bathroom (which is adjacent to the master bedroom) and the early, late news was on. The news reporter was doing a story about the final flight of some armed servicemen (I can’t recall what branch of the military now) who were helping to rescue the last of their servicemen (or “brothers”) and  the man who was being interviewed said, he never felt like he was any hero or anything to anyone (especially the men he was rescuing) but everyone else told him that he was a hero. It was also said that he valiantly served America until about 1997 (I think that was the year) when he retired as a very decorated veteran. It brings a tear of joy to my eye…and to think it will bring about a change. Everything will be okay. I thought as I heard that. Then I started to sing Danny’s Song but couldn’t finish the lyrics because I honestly don’t have them memorized.

Well, anyway, I kept the part of the song I could remember (which is just the first two lines of the refrain/chorus) echoing in my head most of the night and into today. As I kept singing that part, I thought to myself that this is definitely my theme song to my life. Yes, I know now it was written in honor of a new nephew being born, but for me this is MY life theme song! Without further ado, here is Kenny Loggins’ Danny’s Song written in 1971.

People smile and tell me I’m the lucky one,
And we’ve only just begun.
Think I’m gonna have a son.
He will be like she and me, as free as a dove,
Conceived in love.
Sun is gonna shine above.

And even though we ain’t got money,
I’m so in love with you, honey,
And everything will bring a chain of love.
And in the morning, when I rise,
You bring a tear of joy to my eyes
And tell me everything is gonna be alright.

Seems as though, a month ago, I was Beta-Chi,
Never got high.
Oh, I was a sorry guy.
And now, I smile and face the girl that shares my name.
Now I’m through with the game.
This boy will never be the same.

And even though we ain’t got money,
I’m so in love with you, honey,
And everything will bring a chain of love.
And in the morning, when I rise,
You bring a tear of joy to my eyes
And tell me everything is gonna be alright.

Pisces, Virgo rising is a very good sign,
Strong and kind,
And the little boy is mine.
Now I see a family where the once was none.
Now we’ve just begun.
Yeah, we’re gonna fly to the sun.

And even though we ain’t got money,
I’m so in love with you, honey,
And everything will bring a chain of love.
And in the morning, when I rise,
You bring a tear of joy to my eyes
And tell me everything is gonna be alright.

Love the girl who holds the world in a paper cup.
Drink it up.
Love her and she’ll bring you luck.
And if you find she helps your mind, better take her home.
Don’t you live alone.
Try to earn what lovers own.

And even though we ain’t got money,
I’m so in love with you, honey,
And everything will bring a chain of love.
And in the morning, when I rise,
You bring a tear of joy to my eyes
And tell me everything is gonna be alright.

(“Danny’s Song” Kenny Loggins and Jim Messina, 1971)

God bless!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 35 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Life’s Theme Song

  1. diannegray says:

    Oh, Christy – I LOVE that song! I used to have the Kenny Loggins album and I haven’t hear it in years! Now it’ll be in my head for days (which is a great thing!) 😀

Leave a Reply

