What God Has Joined No Human Shall Separate

“…what God has united, human beings must not divide[!]” (Mark 10:9) This means that marriage is sacred. I can now hear most of you saying, “Well, duh!” I’m also going to say that this is something that is brought up in almost all Catholic arguments for marriage, but I’m almost certain most of you that are not in that first group are probably thinking “Oh great, now you’re getting all preachy on us!” Okay, I’m most likely preaching to the choir here when I talk about how sacred marriage is and it “supposedly” is reserved for one man and one woman only. Now, I’m sure I have all the gay rights activists angry. Before you all stop reading allow me to defend myself a bit.

First of all, I agree that marriage is sacred. Second, God unites what no human should divide (that is that I do not completely agree with divorce). Last, I said marriage is “supposedly” reserved for one man and one woman. Now time for to elaborate on these three points. I’ll begin with marriage being sacred, move on to why I don’t completely agree with divorce, and end with why I said marriage is “supposedly” reserved for one man and one woman.

Marriage is sacred and this means that God should be present in every aspect of the couple’s life together. I believe this should actually begin well before the couple even meets. You’re probably wondering what this means and how it can be possible. Let me explain a bit and permit me to sound semi-old-fashioned here for a minute or two. As a former Girl Scout/Guide, I was always taught to be prepared. This goes without saying that I believe in preparing myself for marriage. How? I pray for my future partner and abstain from sex. I believe that God will keep my future spouse faithful and know who I am and I will know who he is when I meet him. Then when we finally meet, date, etc. and eventually he (or I) propose, we will accept one another. When we have our wedding we will again welcome God into our life and keep God at the center for our entire life. This explains why I believe God will have joined us together and no human should and shall ever separate us. I also believe that if God is in our lives then there is no room for anyone or anything else in our lives. God will show us who will help us to grow and will never allow anyone or anything to totally consume us or make us do wrong. This now leads me to my next topic: why I don’t completely agree with divorce.

In my family there has been a few divorces, I don’t deny that and I won’t sugarcoat it either. I know actually through an annulment process is how one of my cousins met his new wife. Also another person who divorced in my family is someone I don’t keep in touch with any more, but for different reasons, but her reason wasn’t great in my eyes even if I’m not one to judge. The only reasons I feel are sound for divorce are: if someone tries hard to love the other, but the one who cannot be loved does not reciprocate that love any more, if the relationship becomes too focused on material goods (money, status, etc.) and not on love, or simply put love and/or God is no longer the center of the marriage and something (or someone) else has taken that position.

So why do I say, “supposedly” marriage is reserved for one man and one woman? Well, this is where my Catholic family and friends may have a fit, disown me, or wish for me to leave the Church. I’ve always believed God wants us to be happy. This means I believe in civil unions between two members of the same gender. I also believe if God didn’t want gays there never would be any here because God wouldn’t create them in the first place; plus God created us in God’s own image which to me means God is both hetero and homosexual — just as God is both male and female (don’t tell me you don’t know/believe that, too). That, however, is a topic for another entry.

Anyway, I hope this clears up my point of view and maybe gained a few supporters. If you are opposed to my views, I will not change to please you because I know I can never please everyone. In closing, I will say that if you enter a marriage or civil union  I beg you to remember to always be true and love unconditionally. I will now leave you with these song lyrics (which I’m sure almost everyone knows):

Love, love me do
You know I love you
I'll always be true
So please love me do
Wo ho love me do

Love, love me do
You know I love you
I'll always be true
So please love me do
Wo ho love me do

Someone to love
Somebody new
Someone to love
Someone like you

Love,love me do
You know I love you
I'll always be true
So please love me do
Wo ho love me do

Love, love me do
You know I love you
I'll always be true
So please love me do
Wo ho love me do
Yeah love me do
Wo ho love me do

 (“Love Me Do” The Beatles 1962)


God bless!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 36 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What God Has Joined No Human Shall Separate

  1. Pingback: I’m Not Perfect | Travelers on the Road

Leave a Reply

