Broken for the World

Tonight at Mass we had a visiting, missionary priest from India. Once again, I admire all the men and women who can do this line of work (I’ve stated this many times in real life, and here probably at least once). During his first homily (yes, he had two homilies tonight), he explained how we pick up our brokenness to help heal our world that is suffering.

This had me almost crying. I don’t know why exactly, or should I say I don’t know how to put it into words. I guess the best way I can put it is that I finally think my prayers have finally been answered as to what I am to do with my life or at least what I believe makes the most sense with what I heard in the chapel some years ago.

Also during his second homily, I felt deeply moved to help him. Unfortunately, I cannot financially support him and his ministry, so I’ll just pray for his success and the success of his missions in India.

So here’s a song that I believe fit for tonight’s (this Sunday’s) theme. It’s called “Bread for the World” and it was written by Bernadette Farrell.

Refrain
Bread for the world:
a world of hunger.
Wine for all peoples:
people who thirst.
May we who eat
be bread for others.
May we who drink
pour out our love.

1. Lord Jesus Christ,
you are the bread of life,
broken to reach
and heal the wounds
of human pain.
Where we divide your people,
you are waiting there
on bended knee
to wash our feet with endless care.

2. Lord Jesus Christ,
you are the wine of peace,
poured into hearts once broken
and where dryness sleeps.
Where we are tired and weary,
you are waiting there
to be the way which beckons us
beyond despair.

3. Lord Jesus Christ,
you call us to your feast,
at which the rich and pow’rful
have become the least.
Where we survive on others
in our human greed,
you walk among us
begging for your ev’ry need.

God bless!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, The Catholic Cathechism, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians. ) I am a proud Roman Catholic (feel free to ask questions as it helps me to grow in my faith). I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fullfiling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 32 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

