Sister Act

I suppose many of you thought this entry would be about the 1992 movie starring Whoppi Goldberg, and to a degree you are right. I am going to reference that movie, but in regards to my life. I must say It is amazing just how much Whoppi’s character (Deloris) has similar characteristics to me. No, I never witnessed a mob crime (knock on/touch wood I never will) nor am I black/African American; also I’m not a Reno singer (heck, I get stage fright if I try to sing on stage, but I’d love to sing for people if I could ever get enough courage up ;)). Anyway, onto the main topic.

I have often wondered if I should have ever entered the convent. Lots of topics come up from family and friends that make me question my calling in life. I have to wonder if I missed it somewhere or even just misunderstood it. My boss, Catherine, asked me this past Saturday if I ever considered entering the convent. I was at first a bit surprised because as she would tell you she isn’t the most religious person ever — spiritual at best. I confessed to her, as I will to you, I had considered it many times. It came up a lot in grade school. Every year, since I attended a Catholic school, there was always a vocations awareness week. During the weeks that preceded it, we were (depending upon your grade) asked to either draw a poster depicting a vocation or write an essay on a vocation of our choosing. As I’ve said before, there are many vocations and they don’t all deal with ordained or religious life. Anyway, many times I drew or talked about Sisters or priests. Often times I drew my photos depicting myself as one of the Sisters or talked about what it would be like to enter a convent or seminary. So it’s not an uncommon theme that is brought up to me nor one that I shy away from easily. Also as I stated before, my Uncle George was an ordained priest of the Catholic Church; this seems to say that religious vocations are not something that my family shames or fears.

Personally, I don’t feel that it is actually a calling just yet. Maybe it is, but maybe it isn’t. I’m not entirely sure. I recently felt a tug at it near my mom’s birthday last year, but still wasn’t entirely sure because I was receiving conflicting messages. You see, I’m kind of like Delores, from Sister Act, when she was little and into her some areas of her adult life. Here’s a quote I remember from the movie in the beginning.

[in a classroom in 1968]
Nun: Who can name all the apostles? Yes, Delores?
Little Delores: John, Paul, George… and Ringo!
[the children laugh]
Nun: Delores Wilson, you are the most unruly, disobedient girl in this school! Now, I want you to march right up to that blackboard and write the names of all the apostles alphabetically.
[Little Delores walks up to the blackboard and writes “John, Paul, Peter” and “Elvis” in big letters, underlined. The children laugh again]
Nun: This is enough! You are hopeless, and I wash my hands of you. Mark my words, Delores. If you continue on this disruptive track, it will lead straight to the devil. Have you any idea what girls like you become?
[Little Delores smiles]

Okay, so here’s the deal. I may have never actually done that, but I have thought about it and definitely wanted to at times. This is probably why I cannot see myself as a Sister. At any rate, it does seem like I would have fun and never let the other Sisters have a dull day; but I don’t know. I mean I still would like to have a family of my own and bring a child into this world. Who knows right? I mean, I’m not in control. God is in control and God will do and lead us wherever we are needed and wherever God wants us. For me, that could be a convent, my childhood home, or married raising a family of my own. Who knows. Time can only tell.

Anyway, go rent Sister Act and Sister Act 2 — or if you have it all ready pop it into your DVD player, VHS tape player, Blue Ray, etc. It is so worth a watch and a good laugh, cry, and all around good movie to see even if you aren’t Catholic or Christian. You’ll love it! I promise. 😀

God bless!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 36 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sister Act

  1. Pingback: White Rabbit (And a Strange Feeling) | Travelers on the Road

Leave a Reply

