Five Years Ago Today

Five years ago today, at about 9:00 am (or maybe 10:00 am I can’t really remember exactly), we had Mass of Christian Burial for Daddy. I don’t remember much about that Mass, but it’s probably for the better. What I do remember is that five years ago today, I found my real friend who will always be there for me. I never told one person whom I am sure would have been there for me, but I didn’t tell her (my college/university roommate and best friend). I found myself curious about where she is and what she’s doing now.

I also remember five years ago things started to come to a close and yet opened new doors. I remember the songs more than anything from the Mass for Daddy. I guess because I picked most of them. Two songs always bring tears to my eyes, but also remind me of him most, which is why I picked them. The two songs are Be Not Afraid and You Are Mine and they seem to speak not just of what Jesus says to us, but also make me think of Daddy speaking them to me.

Here are the lyrics to the two songs (first is Be Not Afraid)

1.
You shall cross the barren desert, but you shall not die of thirst.
You shall wander far in safety though you do not know the way.
You shall speak your words in foreign lands and all will understand.
You shall see the face of God and live.

R.
Be not afraid.
I go before you always.
Come follow me, and
I will give you rest.

2.
If you pass through raging waters in the sea, you shall not drown.
If you walk amid the burning flames, you shall not be harmed.
If you stand before the pow’r of hell and death is at your side, know that
I am with you through it all.

3.
Blessed are your poor, for the kingdom shall be theirs.
Blest are you that weep and mourn, for one day you shall laugh.
And if wicked men insult and hate you all because of me, blessed, blessed are you!

(Quoted from: http://www.lyricsmode.com/lyrics/j/john_michael_talbot/#share)

You are Mine
By David Haas

I will come to you in the silence
I will lift you from all your fear
You will hear My voice
I claim you as My choice
Be still, and know I am near

I am hope for all who are hopeless
I am eyes for all who long to see
In the shadows of the night,
I will be your light
Come and rest in Me

Chorus:
Do not be afraid, I am with you
I have called you each by name
Come and follow Me
I will bring you home
I love you and you are mine

I am strength for all the despairing
Healing for the ones who dwell in shame
All the blind will see, the lame will all run free
And all will know My name

Chorus:
Do not be afraid, I am with you
I have called you each by name
Come and follow Me
I will bring you home
I love you and you are mine

I am the Word that leads all to freedom
I am the peace the world cannot give
I will call your name, embracing all your pain
Stand up, now, walk, and live

Chorus:
Do not be afraid, I am with you
I have called you each by name
Come and follow Me
I will bring you home
I love you and you are mine

(Quoted from http://www.namethathymn.com/hymn-lyrics-detective-forum/index.php?a=vtopic&t=1380)

I am will leave you with a happy note. I am happy that I got the chance to tell Daddy how much I love him. I am sure he knows now and that he is always singing those songs with me every time they play/sing them at church/Mass. 🙂

God bless!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 36 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

