My Daddy, My Hero

Today Daddy would have turned 65 and anyone who had ever met him knows just how special he was. He was a one of a kind person, and definitely my hero! Sure everyone says that his (gender neutral) dad is his hero, but as soon as you read a bit of my tribute to him tonight (I’ll write more about him on May 16 — his anniversary date) you’ll see why he’s my hero.

Daddy (or Anthony “Tony” Frank Smigin, Jr.) was born May 6, 1947. Much of the rest of his childhood seems a bit vague and, as far as this blog entry is concerned, unimportant. Daddy played in his school bands and served at Masses for priests (and maybe archbishops). He also played basketball and worked with his hands A LOT. If he didn’t know something, he taught himself about it and what he did know, he taught to others. These were all crucial to forming me as an individual. I never played in a marching band, but I did play a few instruments in my life (and as you know still want to play more). The instruments I played were trumpet, keyboard (66 key approximately), a synthesizer, a miniature organ, and piano. I always wanted to serve at Mass, but never could because girls are not allowed to serve at Mass (well, they are now in my archdiocese, but traditionally they aren’t allowed to do so); instead Daddy taught me how important it is to remember to always attend (not just physically, but spiritually) Mass weekly and celebrate Confession (Penance, Reconciliation, etc.) regularly. Also along those lines, Daddy said to always put God first, others second, and myself last and things would usually work out for the best. Daddy played basketball and it was with him I learned how to play and who to root for no matter what! 😉 Daddy always was busy working on something with his hands; be it a Pinewood Derby car for the Boy Scout troop he helped with or a gazebo to house a 2-foot deep wading pool. He even could be found repairing the roof from a storm or gardening in the backyard. He didn’t know the first thing about Chrysler cars, but he learned a lot (not that well mind you) and eventually taught Steven and me how to drive my first car (“Derrick” the 1985 1/2 Plymouth Turismo Duster). He knew how to calculate resistance in a circuit and eventually taught students at DeVry University to do likewise (and more). Also he offered to teach me how to sew on a sewing machine (to make me a dress to be precise) if I could and would lose at least 2 dress sizes; unfortunately he never got to because of his untimely death, but I’m sure I could do so now if I just take my time.

Now onto why I said he’s my hero. Daddy suffered from health conditions that most people would never want to face or grow tired and just give up, but Daddy didn’t. First when I was about 5 or 6 years old, Daddy suffered from some kidney disorder that left him unable to digest anything with seeds (talk about trouble). Then by the time I was 21 years old, Daddy was diagnosed with cancer…correctal cancer precisely. He underwent surgery and they thought they got it all! By the time I was 25, Daddy was diagnosed again with cancer. It had returned and this time spread throughout his body. They felt they could treat it if he was given a large dose of chemo and a very strong aid, but also recommended he go to a clinic that specializes in advanced cancer treatments. He went Cancer Treatment Centers of America in Tulsa, Oklahoma, and I barely saw him at all then, but he pressed onward. He continued fighting even up to being sent to a hospice care facility near the end of his battle.

Daddy, you are my hero and I will always look up to you and love you even if I can no longer see you or hug you! We all miss you and love you!

Daddy in his rare, and genuine, smiling moments!

And to the rest of you, I hope God will help you to realize how little time we have with others. Spend that time with them as often as you can because you never know when it will be their last.

God bless!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 35 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to My Daddy, My Hero

  1. Pingback: I Will Remember You! | Travelers on the Road

  2. Pingback: Rough Week Comes to a Close | Travelers on the Road

  3. Pingback: The White Rabbit Meets All the Saints | Travelers on the Road

  4. Pingback: A Christmas Gift from Daddy | Travelers on the Road

  5. Pingback: Papa Tony | Travelers on the Road

  6. Pingback: Daddy’s Happy Birthday Cookie Cake | Travelers on the Road

  7. Pingback: It Doesn’t Seem That Long | Travelers on the Road

  8. Pingback: We All Have Decisions/Choices to Make | Travelers on the Road

  9. Pingback: Silence Is Golden | Travelers on the Road

  10. Pingback: An Interesting Dream | Travelers on the Road

  11. Pingback: I Have to Wonder | Travelers on the Road

  12. Pingback: Bittersweet Day | Travelers on the Road

  13. Pingback: Brief Update to Saturday’s Post | Travelers on the Road

  14. Pingback: Why Didn’t You Tell Me Sooner?! | Travelers on the Road

  15. Pingback: How Do You Explain This? | Travelers on the Road

  16. Pingback: Single Life Vocation: It’s Not as Bad as You Think | Travelers on the Road

Leave a Reply

