The Road to Emmaus

My blog’s namesake “feast day” was yesterday and because I had such a horrible day, I missed talking about it. 😦 I’m sorry! You probably know the story I’m about to tell you, but I’ll share it just the same.

The Bible explains how two men are on a journey toward Emmaus when a man, whom they do not recognize as Jesus, walks along with them and they relate to Him everything that has just happened (the crucifixion, etc.). All the while, Jesus relates back to them scripture passages that speak of Him and how He had to suffer, etc. but never once does Jesus tell them that He is who they are conversing with. It isn’t until they arrive at their destination and Jesus suggests He is traveling farther that the men invite Jesus to stay with them for the evening. He agrees and they share a meal. As Jesus is breaking the bread to share with them, the two men finally see Jesus for who He is. I can speculate that this is because of two main things. One, they were so caught up in the daily life and events that had just unfolded days before that they could not see Jesus for who He was walking with them; two, (and this is my spiritual side speaking) Jesus made it so they could not see Him clearly. Perhaps this was a disguise of some sort and some might argue a dirty trick, but being the Son of God Jesus can do anything and for whatever reason.

I suppose this story did unfold for me yesterday. I was having a somewhat wonderful day at work, but two customers (both women oddly enough) gave me tons of trouble. Where’s the chocolate ice cream? One demanded; I explained it was on the bottom of the cone (and I offered to give her a second chocolate scoop, but she said she didn’t want to pay for THREE scoops of ice cream). The second one came within half an hour of me leaving and said she wanted a java chip shake, but not too runny. Well, the ice cream is all ready runny as is. The freezer had been acting up, so it wasn’t too hard to begin with; so I followed my directions to the letter (according to Steven this was my first mistake because if I knew it was runny I shouldn’t have used as much milk or something like that). I gave here the shake and her daughter’s ice cream with hot fudge on top. Everything she asked for, I gave. Only problem was, according to her, the shake was too watery; she paid for it and left. I thought I had seen the last of her, but five minutes later she returned and asked for her receipt along with my name and the name of the manager. Crap! I thought and instantly I grew shaky and both angry and sad. I wanted to tell her I was the manager and give her a piece of my mind, but didn’t. I also wanted to let her talk to my assistant manager who was working with me, but didn’t because I felt they would get into a shouting match and we’d lose a customer coming back again. So I gave her my manager’s name and informed her my name was on the receipt. Right after getting off work, I called the manager to let her know my story and what happened; also that she would be getting a phone call.

I suppose this related back to the story of Emmaus because all the while Jesus had been with me and finally revealed Himself to me in my family and friends who all comforted me after the ordeal. He’s always there, we just have to look harder to find Him sometimes.

Want more info. on my blog’s namesake? Here’s more info. “About This Blog.”

God bless!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 35 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

