My Doctor’s Appointment in Review

Well, yesterday’s doctor’s appointment went rather smoothly albeit I had to wait an extra 15 to 20 minutes. The new doctor was running a bit behind time and she did apologize for it, but I still wasn’t too happy. I guess it’s just that she seemed even more professional that my last doctor and on top of that I had just been weighed in and was told I am now 22 pounds heavier than I was about this time last year. Well, I told you that all ready. Anyway, on to some of the other “stuff” that happened.

I was given lab orders (as I knew I would, remember?) and new prescriptions. I am now on so many medicines I can no longer count them all on one hand. 😥 I also now have to see another doctor besides my primary care (I don’t really like my primary care anyway, but that’s a different story). Then she lowered the dosage of one of my cholesterol medicines (I hope she knows what she’s doing). She tried refilling all my medicines, but I didn’t get them all refilled (only 2 were refilled and 2 new ones are filled). I hope all my test results come back relatively normal. Speaking of which, I had to go back home for my lab work because they didn’t have it on record that I was supposed to get it done. I also was supposed to have a urine test, but the lab tech. never gave me a cup. Oh well, that’s too bad; besides, at the time I didn’t have to go anyway. I guess I will have to go back a different day if they still need to do it.

So now that you’ve heard all the negatives, here’s a few positives. My HbA1c (a test done to see how well I’m managing my diabetes and measures my blood sugar/glucose over a 6-12 week period) came back as 5.9 (which is about 117 mg/dl)! I was so happy to hear that because I had been so worried that my numbers were way too high as of late, but I guess in that regard I had no need to worry. I also recall glancing at what the nurse wrote my blood pressure is (because she wouldn’t tell me, unlike all the other nurses I’ve ever been to) and I was happy to see it said 120/70. 😀 Yay, more good news! Lastly, I saw my pulse (but I can’t recall it to you now) and it was normal, too!

So all in all it was a very good visit and things went better than I had planned. The biggest problems were actually learning my blood sugar/glucose was around 88mg/dl when the nurse took it and that also resulted in my later getting a very bad headache (almost like a migraine) and wasn’t able to take Steven to his dentist appointment that evening. I also had to wait a lot longer to pick up my new (and refilled) prescriptions (they had them ready probably around 4:30 pm [16:30], but I didn’t get around to picking them up until maybe around 6:00 pm [18:00]).

Thank you all for your prayers, positive thoughts, positive vibes, etc. They all helped me and I felt every single one of them. God helped me and gave me the courage I needed to face my challenges I had yesterday.

Tomorrow is yet another busy day! I am headed downtown for a visit to someone (I’m not saying who or for what here just yet, but those of you who know me very well in real life know where, why, and who I am going to visit). My day today? Well, it was definitely busier than I had anticipated, but we’re done now. Friday is my day to be on call at work, and I may have to work, but I may not all the same. We’ll see what happens. If I don’t have to work I’ll be trying to catch up on a few things around the house and maybe get some more things done on my to-do- list. I’ll see if I can get around to writing tomorrow.

God bless!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 35 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

