Support Comes in All Forms

I talked with a fellow diabetic (and friend) tonight after Mass. She had been wearing an eye patch for the past two weeks and it was finally off tonight! I decided to approach her before taking photos of “our church in all its Christmas glory” (as I said to Mom and Steven earlier this evening). I asked her how things were going and why the eye patch was on the past two weeks. Come to find out it was diabetic related. She had some nerve damage and it essentially made her blind in that eye for the past two weeks while her eye doctor cleaned it out for her. I felt sorry for her and told her I hadn’t wanted to make a scene like the others did, so instead I just prayed for her. She thanked me for her prayers and reminded me that support comes in all forms and she would pray for me as I continue my battle with diabetes, too. I informed her I’d really appreciate them as I returned to a diabetic doctor next month. I have not been to a diabetic doctor in over a year. I had felt I was in complete control and had no need to see one besides my last doctor left to take up practice in Kansas City, Missouri. I’m nervous to return to a diabetic doctor as the last time I was in the office I weighed considerably less (I was about 10-11 pounds lighter than I am right now). My friend informed me that she thought it would do me good to see a doctor again and inform the doctor of all that had been going on and say, “I need all the help you can give me!” Yeah, it’s hard being diabetic as you have to admit a lot of times you need help and there is not always a lot you can do on your own. You need support from others in the form of emotional and informational; you also need guidance and prayers. I have found when all these are in balance, life is a bit easier and you feel less stressed and burdened.

Whatever you are doing or how your health life is, remember support comes in all forms you need but ask. God is there as are family and friends. I am here for you, too.

God bless!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 36 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

