Thanksgiving

The word “Eucharist” comes from the Greek via Latin and means “thanksgiving.” The homilies on Thanksgiving probably have always emphasized this and with great reason! This is why I truly love being Catholic. Being Catholic means that we are “universal” (the true meaning of “catholic”) and we believe firmly in the Eucharist and the Real Presence.

When Jesus instituted the Holy Communion (or Eucharist), He literally gave thanks to God, our heavenly Father. The act of giving thanks is where the word Eucharist comes from and why we (as Catholics) celebrate this every time we go to Mass.

It’s unfortunate that our brothers and sisters in the protestant faiths do not celebrate Eucharist every time they attend worship. I suppose this is also why we do not allow non-Catholics to receive Holy Communion besides which it also says that we are one in faith and that has not yet happened. When it does we will all be one in Christ.

On to the secular part of tomorrow, Thanksgiving. I have never understood the meaning of the secular form of thanksgiving. Perhaps that’s because I’ve grown up Catholic and attended Catholic schools for about 20 years (which is about 2/3 of my life)! At any rate, the most secular definition I can conjure up is that thanksgiving is a celebration of bringing all the best fruits (and vegetables) of the year’s harvest together and rejoicing over the bountiful harvest that was yielded. Then all of that is put away in storage to save up during the cold, winter months that will soon take place.

So now I have several questions that have never been fully explained, explored, or elaborated upon in all my 30 years. Here they are:

  • Why do we “celebrate” football (American football) on Thanksgiving, too?
  • Where do the parades fit in with our Thanksgiving (and as far as that goes, Christmas) traditions?
  • Why is the busiest day of shopping the day right after Thanksgiving (Black Friday)?
  • Who said we have to eat turkey on Thanksgiving?
  • Why is it Thanksgiving Dinner and not Thanksgiving Lunch or Breakfast?

So there you have it! My dollar’s worth of what Thanksgiving is my questions about it. If I have time, and/or remember I will write about my many thanks/blessings I have this year on Thanksgiving (tomorrow). If not, I’m sure you’ve heard/read all about it when I celebrated my birthday. šŸ˜€

To you and yours, I hope you have a wonderful, happy, and blessed Thanksgiving! Don’t eat too much turkey or watch too much TV.

God bless!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 36 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thanksgiving

  1. I just added this feed to my bookmarks. I have to say, I very much enjoy reading your blogs. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

