A New, Furry Face

A new, furry face came to live with us yesterday. His name is Joey! Joey is a persian cat and has long kind of orange and cream-colored fur. What a lovely boy. It took us about 3 weeks in all to get acquainted with and love with him. He is just the sweetest thing and loves attention and is very healthy, though we really still need to get him in for his initial vet visit ASAP. Last night he stayed in Mom’s room with her and me. I slept fairly well; it wasn’t that great, but then again when you don’t know what to expect from a new cat what is. The main thing that kept us awake was the constant batting at the door (I say batting because he doesn’t have his front paws) and meowing to be let out. I got used to the batting at the door, but the meowing is what kept me awake. Several times in the middle of the night I found him in or near the sink! This will prove interesting come grooming. I have a feeling he may not like the sink later, but we shall see.

Speaking of grooming, I tried to brush the mates out of his fur under his chin this morning and he kept batting me away and hissing at me. I figured after getting at least one mate out that I’d leave him alone with that, for a while anyway. I also tried to clean his face. Since Persians have a “smooshed in” face their tear ducts don’t work properly and need someone to always clean their faces. Well, I can’t say I did a wonderful job but it is an improvement!

As you have probably deduced I’m the family groomer. I take care of the pets and their various needs that aren’t as simple as “feed, water, and walk”. I clean their tanks (if fish or turtles; currently we have a turtle), clean the litter box, change the litter box, brush their fur, and help bathe (unless we have saved enough money to get them professionally groomed).

Anyway, through God’s grace we were given the option to help out this poor persian and give him a chance in our home. I hope this time will be the last and this one will give us love for many years to come! Not to worry, in time I will post pictures of Joey!

God bless!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 35 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New, Furry Face

  1. STB says:

    I hope the cat continues to settle in well. We’ve just collected a kitten this evening ans, touch wood, all seems to be going well. Post more stories (and pictures!) of the new addition xx

Leave a Reply

