Sister-Brother Bonding Time

Today, as planned, Steven and I made our (semi-)anual trip to the junk/salvage yard. Every year since 2007, we have made at least one trip there together; prior to 2007, it was a trip that he and our dad made. I now consider these trips to be “sister-brother bonding time” because it is something only the two of us do and something that only the two of us understand. One of our trips (I can’t remember if it was the first or second trip), we brought along a family friend (former professor and friend of our dad’s). It was okay, average I guess you might say; since then, however, it’s been just the two of us and that’s just fine with me!

The first year we went, it was pouring down rain! Buckets upon buckets of rain showered in on us on all sides. We wouldn’t have even gone, but we had all ready packed the van with all our tools and other “stuff” the night before and had planned so far out that we were going that day no matter what. I won’t forget it either! At one point, it poured so badly that Steven left me in a junked van and asked me to stay put while he searched nearby junked vehicles. I was covered in mud from head to toe and my hair was as coarse as a horse’s tail. My eyes probably also were blood-shot and I probably had mud for eyeshadow. As we climbed into the van later that afternoon and headed for home Steven asked me, “Well, despite the rain and all that, did you have fun?” I smiled. :mrgreen: “I had a blast! It was awesome! I can’t wait to go back!” I was not lying.

I enjoy getting dirty, working with my hands, tearing things apart, and working with cars. If I can do all that and be with Steven, all the better! Steven was so happy to know I enjoyed the trip. He told me much later he was afraid I wouldn’t have enjoyed it and wouldn’t want to go back. Steven also thought I was going to complain about having to wait in a junked car and how dirty I got. On the contrary, I didn’t mind one bit. I think I only called home once to tell Mom I was bored and that was because Steven was taking so long and left me at the beginning of an aisle that was too small to fit the wagon down.

It seems that now, whenever we go, I always plan to spend a little extra money on our return home for a lunch, snack, or coffee (for me). We usually make a pit stop about 30 minutes from home at the McDonald’s there. Today we stopped by and I got a McDouble, two mini apple pies, and a glass of water; Steven got a chicken McNugget Meal. It was my turn to ask him.

“Did you have a good time?” He replied, half-heartedly, “It beat working.” I had to agree with him there. It’s not as much fun as it used to be, now that we both have jobs and don’t get much time to work on the cars later. It’s depressing to think you work this hard and make plans to get parts for your car only to not have the time later to work on them after you get the parts.

All in all, it was great to spend some time with Steven and not worry about someone interrupting us as we shared that time together. Maybe you can find some time to spend with your loved one(s) even if you don’t actually enjoy yourself as much as you initially thought you would. God wants to give us some time, however little that is, to be with those we love.

God bless!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 35 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sister-Brother Bonding Time

  1. Pingback: So Stressed | Travelers on the Road

Leave a Reply

