A Fortuitous Foresight

The LORD has definitely showered his love here! We are so fortuitous and had a fortuitous foresight. A long while back Steven and I discovered our lone remaining red bud tree was rotting and splitting, but we were reluctant to chop it down yet because of costs and work elsewhere around the house needing to be completed. Well, he decided to put a ratcheting tie-down around the tree to hold it in place. He said that would hold it until we would be able to get to it.

Just last night, heavy winds and rains came. We received considerable damage and lost power for two hours! We had no idea just how much damage until the sun rose this morning. I looked around the yard to find we had downed branches and almost a quarter of the tree that we had held up with the ratcheting tie-down had also semi-fallen onto the roof near where Mom and I were sleeping. Oh how fortuitous Steven was in his foresight to have decided to strap those parts of the tree together; had he not done that the tree would have crashed into bed with us and I don’t want to even think about what else might have happened!

As I type this to you, the tree trimmers/removers are working to restore peace to this house once again. I only fear that our check is going to be huge! The price tag is about $160 an hour and they’ve been here for almost half an hour now; and all they’ve done thus far is work on the tree up front and not the one on our house! 😦 Well, I’m sure in the end we will all be happier and hopefully not too poor. I’m also hoping that they will not tell me for the umpteenth time about our “dying” pine tree in the front yard. I know about it, but we’ve been nursing it and so far it is looking a bit better than last year. At least it is making sap again and not looking nearly as brown. It’s actually starting to turn green in some places again and I found some pine cones, too!

Anyway, I’m praying that the tree trimmers/removers do a great job and are safe! Also pray they will not charge too terribly much. God has given them an opportunity to serve others and I hope they do not abuse that opportunity by trying to swindle others or give false information on the trees that they do not have to worry about today!

All Steven’s foresight and help has greatly paid off! I thought he was crazy for that ratcheting tie-down, but not any more! Steven is very smart and knows what he’s doing even if at the time it doesn’t make sense to me! How fortuitous we are!

God bless!

EDIT! They have finally moved to the back now! I’ll update you tomorrow!

God bless!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 36 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

