Thirty Years and Counting

Today marks my 30th birthday! I wasn’t going to write today until I realized that I didn’t write yesterday; also what better time to explain the joys, blessings, sorrows, and curses I’ve endured in these past 30 years of my life. Plus, I can tell you why 30 isn’t such a bad age (even though until today I had my doubts, too)!

First of all here are my joys and blessings (or at least some of them):

  1. I was the first-born child.
  2. I was born into a middle class family.
  3. I was born in America! :mrgreen:
  4. I have a very loving family.
  5. I was born into a very Catholic, Christian home!
  6. I have a younger brother is more than just a relative; he’s become my best friend, mentor, and teacher (in many areas of my life)!
  7. I was fortunate to attend Catholic schools pre-kindergarten through college/university. 🙂
  8. I have many friends who are priests.
  9. I was born on the Assumption of Our Blessed Virgin Mary.
  10. I almost always attend Mass on my birthday!
  11. Almost all our pastors know my birthday (see the previous two blessings)!
  12. My family is very close-knit.

Second are my sorrows and curses (or at least a few of them).

  1. I was the first-born child.
  2. I was born into the middle class
  3. My family name (last name) is very hard for some reason to pronounce.
  4. I have a very long first and middle name combined.
  5. I have many nicknames that I don’t like (see above).

This is a good sign! My joys and blessings far outnumber my sorrows and curses. 😀

Now onto why I have learned being 30 isn’t that bad, really!  (Or at least some of the things I’ve learned. I’m sure there’s more but I can’t remember them. 😉 )

  1. Thirty years isn’t that long really.
  2. MTV is 30 as well and it’s still going strong (or so I’ve been told).
  3. Jesus was 30 when He started His ministry.
  4. My mom was 27 when she and my dad were married (two years older than her mom when she got married, which means if I follow suit I’ll be 32)
  5. I don’t have to relive some of the horrors that I faced in my 20s again!
  6. I can feel young when people can’t guess my age correctly (they usually guess younger)!
  7. I passed the age at which my uncle died in an accident (27).
  8. I can now tell Steven what fun things to look forward to when he turns a certain age in his twenties.
  9. I’m closer to being able to pull out social security (let’s just hope it’s still around in another 35 years)!
  10. I have enjoyed 30 years so why not enjoy another 30!

Well, there you have it! I guess turning 30 isn’t all that bad after all and besides age is just a number isn’t it? I mean just because I’m 30 doesn’t mean I always have to act 30!

Well, that’s all for this time.

God bless!

About Christy

I enjoy: my family, my faith life, photography, drawing; writing, working on cars, basketball, football, and baseball. These are just a few of the many things I like...you'll just have to read my blog to know me better to know more of them. Other things you may not catch on that I enjoy are: cats, angels, ballroom dancing, Christian music, camping (being one with nature and all of God's creations), traveling, cherry and apple blossoms, and the colors blue (in all shades), white, black, dark purple, and SOME shades of pink. (Rainbows are cool, too. And I'm NOT a lesbian! Although, I'm friends with some gays and lesbians as well as a few transgenders.) I am Roman Catholic. I graduated from Johnson County Community College, where I majored in Animation in hopes of fulfilling my dreams of being a computer generated animation movie maker. I also have a degree in Corporate Communication from Avila University. I'm currently employed at Nestle Toll House/Haagen-Dazs (at Oak Park Mall in Overland Park), I own my own business -- C & S Productions, L.L.C. (check it out at http://www.csproductionsllc.com), and am single. My favorite time of year is Winter and the Christmas season! It's just so...well, I can't put it into words. ^_^ Lastly, I am 35 years young!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thirty Years and Counting

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving | Travelers on the Road

Leave a Reply

